Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This was very good and quick to make! I only used 1/4 cup wine, added xtra half and half to equal the total of 1/2 cup and used a 1/4 tsp of roasted garlic seasoning and a little fresh grated Parmesan on top when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
i made this today - first off you have to triple the recipe - you dont have to triple the amount of seafood but the amount of liquid- i also added some of my own ingredients -old bay cyanne pepper parsley etc - husband liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is our new Christmas Eve favorite! I tripled this recipe and made it in a slow cooker so it could cook while we attended services. I began by melting butter, sauteeing onions until translucent, then added regular sherry (1/8 cup per serving) and added it at the beginning so the alcohol would cook out. I mixed all the seasonings into the flour and then added to the butter mix to start the roux, then added fat free half n half to thin it. We had imitation crab legs on hand, so I chopped those up in the food processor, added everything to the slow cooker along with milk and vegetable stock until it was at the desired consistency. Finally, for the Iowa in all of us, I added some corn. I served it with cheddar biscuits and it was PHENOMENAL!! We will be making this every Christmas Eve...a new family tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Berry Keating

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Used both seafoods and just 2 tbsp flour. Will only use shrimp next time. Added old bay and paprika, as well as a squeeze of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I really enjoy this recipe - so good on a cold wet night. I am wheat and dairy free so had to make a few substitutions. I used coconut oil in place of the butter, milk in place of the half and half and all purpose GF flour + added garlic and cayenne as recommended by others. It was delicious! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Delicious recipe with some modifications. Like many other posters, I halved the amount of wine called for (used a Chardonnay), added paprika and garlic, and used a mix of white and black pepper. Cut the salt by 1/4 too. As several others mentioned this does NOT make a lot of bisque--if you held the recipe as written you'd have about 3 cups of very thick, chowder-like bisque that MIGHT make 3 decent-sized bowls. So I doubled everything except the seafood meat (incorporating the modifications above), and it was marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I love this! It is easy and taste great. Like everyone else, I made adjustments each time I made it. It keeps getting better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I just got done eating a bowl of this and have to add my comment. This is the best seafood bisque I have ever had. We always like to try it when we go different places to eat and only 1 time found one that was very comparable. I triple the recipe in order to get about 4 large bowls of bisque. I omit the onion and wine, but add Old Bay and red pepper seasoning. It's a staple in our home. I make it several times a year...especially when I see lump crab go on sale. Thanks Katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Made this for my partner one night and he polished off everything! Made it a second time for my sister and brother-in-law and they couldn't stop asking for seconds! It's now a fave requested dish during dinners at our place now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
It was very good. I did add some cooked potato and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States