Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Made this on CHristmas Eve for our hot soup (a tradition) and it was a success! Everyone loved it, especially the chunks of crab and shrimp. I had to quadruple the recipe for my party, however, and it still wasn't enough. Thanks for the recipe and we'll definitely keep this on our list for next year's party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
My husband and I LOVE shrimp bisque, so I tripled the recipe. I added garlic to the roux, and added the shrimp at the very end, after the soup was bubbly, and let it cook until pink. The soup was a tad bland so I added a good sprinkling of Old Bay, and it was perfect. Be sure to saute the onions until they are very, very soft; I didn't cook them long enough so I used my immersion blender to puree the soup before I added the shrimp. I would say the recipe still needs tweaking, but it's a very good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I think i expected more from a highly rated bisque..followed the recipe to the penney on first batch...tasted "moldy" from the white wine and frankly could have gotten the same effect from instant country gravy with crab and shrimp thrown it..2nd batch, no shrimp no white wine just tasteless....there was a recipe i used off this site with cream cheese and papricka that was so much more flavorful than this...sorry I can't rate this any higher its not justified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was excellent and I even made it with 2% milk since I didn't have any cream on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Excellent flavor. Very easy to make. I had a pound of crab so I increased the half and half by an extra half cup and the wine by and extra 1/4 cup. Very thick, rich, delicious, and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vicenza, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This had a good flavor, but it was too rich for us to eat very much of it. I'm still looking for a recipe that resembles bisque I've had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was really tasty. i would say 2 tbsp of flour was too much, 1 would have done just fine. I had to add water to thin it out. HOWEVER it tasted wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was amazing! I used a very good canned crab meat, and I used large shrimp, but cut them into pieces. By having smaller shrimp pieces, it blended better with the crab texture. This was just like eating a fancy restaurant bisque. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was pretty good but I gave it a 4 because I made a few changes. I used all crab meat and used green onion rather than regular. I left out the chicken bouillion, made my roux and then sauted some garlic, the green onions and the crab meat, so the crab could really soak up that flavor. Next I added about half of the 1/2 and half and a TON of paprika--probably 3 Tblsp. Once it began to thicken I added the rest of the half and half and about a cup of sherry instead of wine and 1/2 tsp of white pepper. It was perfect!! Thanks for a yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States