Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
YUM! (Saute the onions first)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I used Cream sherry instead of wine and it turned out perfect. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Phenomenal!!! I made this 3 times over the Holidays and each time it was an absolute success. Definitely stick with the Sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I feel bad for giving this such a low rating because I didn't follow the recipe at all. My husband and I have been craving crab bisque after watching the "Soup Nazi" from Seinfeld and so I tried to make it but with cutting the fat and calories in half. Not a good idea. My suggestion would be to follow the recipe and prepare your waistline.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
A big hit with my family...Yummy! After reading the reviews I doubled the recipe, using both crabmeat and baby shrimp, no salt, sherry instead of wine & adding a dallop of tomato sauce. It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was excellent. I made it with just crab and no wine. I'll definitely omit the salt next time, but otherwise, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Yummy! I was looking for something to do with my leftover crab meat. We had king crab yesterday. It is too expensive to let it go to waste. So this recipe was suggested in recipe exchange portion of the website. We loved it. Made a few changes per other reviews. I used sherry, green onions and left out shrimp. It does not make much. If you are eating it as a main course for dinner I would suggest doubling for a family of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is very good! After reading the reviews, we did make a few tweaks. We used sherry instead of white wine. Next time I will probably cut that in half though. Still a little strong. We used all the salt and boullion and also added old bay on top of that. Definitely too much salt. I think next time we will try not using the salt and boullion and replace with stricly old bay. We also used fat free half and half and coudldn't taste the difference. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This is a five between my rating of 4 and my husband's 6! After reading almost all reviews I made the following changes: 3 tbsp each butter and flour, 1 tsp kosher salt, 1/4 tsp each white and black pepper, 2 tsps chicken broth granules, 2 tsp onion powder (instead of chopped), 1 pint fat free 1/2 & 1/2, 1 lb shrimp (no crab) pulsed 2 or 3 times in a processor to make it chunky, 1/4 cup white wine, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1 tbsp dried parsley, 1 and a half tsp each paprika and old bay, a few dashes of cayenne, and 5 drops hot sauce. I added milk to thin it out slightly, and to mellow the flavors. I will definitely be making this again! Thank you everyone for the great recommendations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
All I could taste was the mix of wine and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by housgrll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States