Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
A wonderful and easy soup. Make sure to double, triple or more. This will be gone in a flash! I did not change a thing. I see a lot of comments about leaving out the wine. I think the key is to use a wine that you enjoy. I used a sweeter local wine and it was delicious. I never use wine in a recipe that I wouldn't drink! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was simple and tasty. I used garlic instead of onion and didn't use any wine. I let the mixture simmer to thicken it up a bit. I agree the texture would be greatly improved by using just one seafood (i.e. shrimp or crab).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I couldn't give this 5 stars because after following the directions in the end you had the texture of an al dante onion. I really believe you should cook the onion in the butter before you add the flour so that it is soft and undetectable. Other than that it was really good. After tasting it I added a pinch of cayenne pepper to add a little kick and it tasted just like a bisque I used to get up in the DC area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I used imitation crab and lobster, and doubled the recipe. It came out fabulous, tasting very restaurant-like for a quick soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Great recipe! My husband has been searching for a recipe for clam bisque because his favorite restaurant that sold it closed down. So instead of the crab & shrimp, I add 2 cans of clams. Highly suggest this, adds a great flavor, esp when add a little of the clam juice. I omit the white wine, neither my husband or I like the flavor in the bisque. Not crazy about the white pepper, usually substitute black. Sometimes add the onion, but I found it doesn't really add alot to the flavor. Great starting recipe, with these changes I make this pretty often! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
double or triple this recipe as the 6 servings it says is maybe 2 . But very good - served at a 8 person meal & everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This recipe turned out wonderfully! Since my mother is going through chemotherapy I have to be careful with certain things and not to make foods too rich so I didn't add the wine, and it still tasted delicious! Since everyone in my family loves lobster bisque, I got two lobsters instead of the shrimp and crab meat, pre cooked them, and used those instead. It tasted amazing. Everyone in my family loved it and is now obsessed with the bisque. It doesn't hurt that its quick and easy to make either! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a perfect recipe especially if you are willing to put your own personal touch on it. We used 1/4 cup of wine which was enough. Black pepper is fine. About 1/4 cup of chicken broth instead of boullion. Didn't use the crab. After cooking threw all of it in a blender to give it a different texture. If you choose to do that you may need to add a bit more broth and half and half to thin it out. Perfect in a small portion with a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manderz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This recipe is phenomenal! It made me feel like a chef!!! I can never get soup quite right, but this was so easy! I did make these changes based on others recommendations: add 1 extra TBS each fo flour and butter, no white pepper (because I didn't have any), all crab, no shrimp. To cut down on cost, I actually ended up buying a half pound of real crab, and a half of imitation. It was fine for us, but if I were making it for guests, I'd recommend using all real crab! I added paprika for color and Old Bay to taste! I served it in french bread bread bowls! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlrios81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was great. Perfect for a cold rainy night. I didn't have any wine in the house so made it without and it was yummy. I do think a splash of wine would have been a nice touch though, maybe no a whole half a cup though ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States