Shrimp and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
The stars are rated by my daughter, who thinks that this was "one of the best seafood things that she has ever had." I did a bit of doctoring - worked with what was in the pantry - so it was mock crab, 7-pepper seafood blend (which has salt, so I didn't use add'l salt, and the mock crab has a bit of salt and sweetness that you don't find in regular crab). I also used evaporated milk, which I always have on hand to replace cream (which I DON'T always have on hand) - and then added a little more milk to make proportions. I also used sherry - another thing I keep on hand for cooking. So, this was a perfect soup because it takes well to substitutions ... and is easy ... and fast ... and good. This is one of those things that you keep on hand for when you have just about all the stuff and want to start a meal with a special first course. Still waiting for husband to get home and put it on the table - he's working really late at the office every day this week - this will be a special way to start supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is a great soup to make in a hurry. I used a chicken soup base instead of the granules, sherry instead of wine and added a little hot sauce. We really enjoyed it with some corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I didn't like this recipe too much. I must admit I tried to change it as I went along because I found it more like a thick sauce than a bisque. I also didn't like the wine since I think sherry suits crab better. None of us could finish a bowl since it was so very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I did not even taste because I was so full from everything else but my family rated this a 5. Very easy to make. I used a good Chardonay, Will add to my recipe collection. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Great recipe but it is too thick. I like to thin it out with extra half and half or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
although i had trouble with the crab meat (full of shells), the bisque part is pretty good. very dairy-fied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLICKAC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Westbrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I always double this recipe using a 1lb can of crab available at Costco and 1lb bag of frozen salad shrimp. I skip the wine and make up for it with 1/2 and 1/2, then thin it out with a cup or 2 of nonfat milk. It's always a crowd pleaser. It tastes like tons more effort is involved than actually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was so simple and yummy! I added old bay seasoning and a shot of tabasco for added flavor, but even without, you can't beat such an easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This recipe was very good. i took the hints of many; omitted the salt, added cayenne and old bay. i also added minced garlic and parsley flakes. i dont deal in alcohol, so instead of the wine, i used a chicken stock that i flavor enhanced with a tsp of worcestershire sauce. And i served it over pasta. my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I have made this soup several times. It is very tasty and simple to make. I always double the recepie because I know it will always go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Diggity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States