Shrimp and Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
We have a load of striper that we caught on Lake Texoma and needed different recipes. This was yummy! I didn't have any shrimp but it turned out delightful! Thanks! We will make this again only with the shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This gumbo was easy and delicious. Great comfort food, it makes you feel warm and good inside. I left out a few of the herbs because I'm a beginner and I didn't want to complicate things, but it was still delicious! This is the kind of recipe you want to cook for other people so you can show off. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is an excellent dish,I have added it to my favorites. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
The recipe came out awesome. This was my first time making a gumbo and it turned out awesome!!! We added more shrimp and catfish and it lasted three days. Have to make this again, real soon!!! Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE this :) I have also used the liquid crab boil when making this and it creates the same flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Selucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Fabulous, if you don't overcook the shrimp. Add shrimp right at the end! First try, followed the recipe (although we use soup base instead of bouillon) and loved it! Second time, substituted chicken soup base for the beef, added shrimp right at the end, and after shrimp cooked a few minutes, added about a cup of half and half. INCREDIBLE! Served over white rice. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I liked this recipe for Gumbo. It was easy and tasted great, nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jake
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
That's my kinda gumbo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Palatka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I live in Alaska so I substituted halibut for the catfish. My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Wonderful gumbo! I just put everything in the pot and let it simmer for an hour and a half, which really let the catfish absorb the spices and flavors. My family was wary about the catfish at first but loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States