Shrimp and Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jake
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
That's my kinda gumbo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Palatka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I live in Alaska so I substituted halibut for the catfish. My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
We have a load of striper that we caught on Lake Texoma and needed different recipes. This was yummy! I didn't have any shrimp but it turned out delightful! Thanks! We will make this again only with the shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Fabulous, if you don't overcook the shrimp. Add shrimp right at the end! First try, followed the recipe (although we use soup base instead of bouillon) and loved it! Second time, substituted chicken soup base for the beef, added shrimp right at the end, and after shrimp cooked a few minutes, added about a cup of half and half. INCREDIBLE! Served over white rice. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
this was ok, i had to substitue tilapia for the catfish but the fish wasn't the problem...the soup itself was just lacking something..next time i'll try adding some shrimp bouillon along with the beef, i think that should do the trick. still good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious and simple to make. My husband not too crazy about okra so next time I will substitute with something else....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE this :) I have also used the liquid crab boil when making this and it creates the same flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Selucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Good recipe. Allows for a lot of experimenting. I think next time I use it I'll not use fish but thats a personal preference. Rather soupy if you are looking for a thick gumbo. I thought it was quite good for a thick spicy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
it was delicious, the whole family enjoyed it... will definitely cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe Was AWESOME!!!! Will use this recipe in the future. Tastes amazing and was really easy. THANKS FOR POSTING THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States