Shrimp and Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Good recipe. Allows for a lot of experimenting. I think next time I use it I'll not use fish but thats a personal preference. Rather soupy if you are looking for a thick gumbo. I thought it was quite good for a thick spicy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I liked this recipe for Gumbo. It was easy and tasted great, nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jake
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
That's my kinda gumbo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeechobee, Florida, USA
Living In: Palatka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe was okay. I was looking for a gumbo recipe that did not use butter as a roux and something special for New Years. I was a little confused with the dry crab boil. The store had many varieties of crab boils including the liquid. I ended up buying the kind in the cheese clothe (big mistake) The little seeds were a bit annoying. I think I was suppose to buy a powder kind. I wish that had been specified in the recipe. I also added smoked turkey sausage which gave it a good taste. I also added a little cornstarch to thicken it just a bit. My husband and the kids ate it. So.... I think they liked it. My husband rated it a five because I made it. Would I make it again? Not unless they ask for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
We have a load of striper that we caught on Lake Texoma and needed different recipes. This was yummy! I didn't have any shrimp but it turned out delightful! Thanks! We will make this again only with the shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This gumbo was easy and delicious. Great comfort food, it makes you feel warm and good inside. I left out a few of the herbs because I'm a beginner and I didn't want to complicate things, but it was still delicious! This is the kind of recipe you want to cook for other people so you can show off. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I live in Alaska so I substituted halibut for the catfish. My family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
The recipe came out awesome. This was my first time making a gumbo and it turned out awesome!!! We added more shrimp and catfish and it lasted three days. Have to make this again, real soon!!! Two thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Jamaica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is an excellent dish,I have added it to my favorites. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Great! It's a real comfort food. We added sausage and substituted cod for catfish. We loaded it with the seafood and meat. Served over rice, there is plenty left over to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States