Shrimp and Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I am on Isagenix diet so I made some substitutions Brown rice Chicken broth Dry crab boil I omitted Omitted the okra ( iam Not allied to have seeds) Everything else was exactly the same DELICIOUS SO UNEXPECTED WHAT A GREAT SURPRISE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
the best gumbo in the world love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
at lorna129, when you use the bagged seasoning, I think you are supposed to leave the bag on and drop it in the post. then you can just pull it out. I did not cook this. just browsing the gumbo recipes because I am cooking some today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Pretty good... but do NOT simmer the shrimp for 30 minutes unless you like rubber shrimp. Add them with about 5 - 6 minutes to go, and it will be much better. Same with the fish. You don't want to over cook it..... fish might take 1 or 2 minutes more than the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Garlic Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This is simple and delicious. My 3 boys, husband, and parents loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
this was ok, i had to substitue tilapia for the catfish but the fish wasn't the problem...the soup itself was just lacking something..next time i'll try adding some shrimp bouillon along with the beef, i think that should do the trick. still good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious and simple to make. My husband not too crazy about okra so next time I will substitute with something else....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieChef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
it was delicious, the whole family enjoyed it... will definitely cook it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This recipe Was AWESOME!!!! Will use this recipe in the future. Tastes amazing and was really easy. THANKS FOR POSTING THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Fabulous, if you don't overcook the shrimp. Add shrimp right at the end! First try, followed the recipe (although we use soup base instead of bouillon) and loved it! Second time, substituted chicken soup base for the beef, added shrimp right at the end, and after shrimp cooked a few minutes, added about a cup of half and half. INCREDIBLE! Served over white rice. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States