Shrimp and Broccoli Packets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Erin
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
After baking for 18 minutes, it was not ready at all (the ice cubes were not even melted). It took 30 minutes to bake. Also, I replaced the instant rice with pre-cooked brown rice, which I steamed earlier in the day and left in the fridge to cool before baking in this recipe. It was a healthy good meal, but maybe would have tasted better as a stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
LOVED! I did make a few minor changes, used a popular cajun seasoning because I didn't have seafood seasoning. I use the Puerto Rican rice recipe on here and added it to the foil packets when the liquid was almost gone. 1/4 cup of water and on the grill for 20 minutes. I'm going to try different flavors like lemon pepper with lemon slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I am rating this with the changes I made. I used quinoa that was about 85% pre-cooked (my kids don't like rice) and only added 2 ice cubes per pocket and no water. I cooked this on the grill for about 13 minutes. I think this was just a little too long for the shrimp, but was perfect for the broccoli. Next time I'd cut my broccoli smaller and cook for about 10 or 11 minutes and maybe cut the ice to just one cube. Overall it was easy, quick, and I'd make it again with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This was a good recipe, and very easy. It would be perfect for a night when you have a lot going on, and best of all, no pots and pans to clean! I went only three stars because it isn't spectacular or out of this world, but it is good and a handy recipe to have in your back pocket, and I think there is potential to make it really yummy with some tweaking of the flavors used. I used old bay seasoning, and instant brown rice. The cooking time was more like 25 minutes, but that may have been due to the fact that I used brown rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
followed the recipe exactly with one exception...used one pound of shrimp divided between the two packets...put it on a hot grill for 13 minutes...perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
A good recipe, however, I made one foil packet first before I made the rest so that I could see how it turned out and I'm glad I did. I noticed that it didn't really cook through and that the flavoring was not very noticeable. I ended up cooking the rice ( I didn't use instant) a few minutes before spreading in the packet and after cooking the packets for the designated time I turned the oven off and let the packets remain in the cooling over for 10-20 minutes more. The flavours really blended better and everything was soft and came together really nice. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Delicious! I used brown instant rice, and only 2 ice cubes. Next time I will try 1 ice cube. Can't wait to try other variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I thought it was good. Not anyting to make for special dinner but a nice week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
a almost a meal iin itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
We really enjoy these. We made them the other night with scallops and they were yummy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Grilled Marinated Shrimp

The tangy marinade makes the shrimp moist and flavorful.

Coconut Shrimp

A beer batter keeps the coconut on these crispy shrimp during cooking.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States