Shrimp and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I put the paprika in the dressing...nice taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I was looking for a shrimp and avocado salad reminiscent of a salad i had in France, but this was the closest recipe to it, so i needed to get sold on something a little spicy. I looked at another recipe (Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans) for the sauce on this site as well, and used this recipe + 1 Tbsp. Creole mustard and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice in in the sauce as the other recipe called for. The mustard and lemon juice added flavor and it was delicious, but possibly not thick enough. Try adding all the called for ingred. and then testing it with mustard and lemon juice. I also just sliced the avocados and placed the shrimp mixture on top of them for ease. Also, make sure you dry your shrimp very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I love spicy stuff, but found this a little too spicy. Next time Ill stick to 1T chili sauce (I used the oriental chili sauce for the garlic and touch of heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
not bad, but was expecting something a bit more exciting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
Very nice recipe, similar to a shrimp/avocado salad I had in New Orleans with a few changes. Tossed the chopped lettuce leaves with a bit of lemon juice/spritz of oil and S&P. I halved the avocados and placed the lettuce inside. I squeezed some lemon on the shrimp and mixed with the dressing....but I cut the worcestershire sauce down to 3/4 tsp and added 3/4 tsp. of crystal hotsauce.(my favorite) but Franks or any other would work great and amount added could be to taste. Placed the shrimp mixture on top of the lettuce. Little spice/heat in each bite with the cool lettuce and avocado. It was delicious and thanks Inga for a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I made this today along with a chicken salad for lunch after our Sunday morning worship. Everyone loved it and there was none left. I made a bed of romaine lettuce from my garden and sliced the avacado because my husband hates it, then I put dobbs of the salad between the slices! It looked beautiful and my man could avoid what he didn't like. The sauce was PERFECT, although I did have to add some large cooked shrimp to give it a "shrimp" taste. Frozen salad shrimp have NO taste at all. Anyway, it was gone and I didn't get to have any at all. I did,however, have my share when I made it so I knew it was good. I would make it again, but not use salad shrimp and not serve it to my husband because it would definitely be great served in the half of an avacado!!! A ladies only luncheon dish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I made this recipe for a salad entree at a dinner party last weekend. It was excellent. I used the suggestion from another review and doubled the shrimp while cutting back on the worcestershire. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This was wonderfully easy and so tasty too! I did add a little horseradish to spice it up even more. And I happened to have some awesome garlic chives in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAXIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
Great recipe, easy to prepare with a very nice presentation. The sauce was really good, I still use it as a dipping sauce for other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAdams

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
Something was a little off... didn't taste bad but wasn't great either. I didn't care for the dressing, a store-bought Louie dressing is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States