Shrimp and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Agreeing that coarsely chopped medium shrimp is a much better choice than tasteless salad shrimp. Other than that, this was a HIT at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was a quick & easy refreshing, healthy lunch. I got bags of salad shrimp on sale at the grocery and they were pretty tiny which made the dressing amount seem like a little too much but the extra dressing worked well for the avocado & lettuce. I've been looking for easy small portion lunch meals like this since I've started working from home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Neither hubs nor I enjoyed this. Unlike the description of the salad, there IS no "combination" of flavors. The ingredients in the dressing never blended together to create a cohesive whole. The recipe calls for far too much Worcestershire and even after cutting it by more than half it was still way too much. The dressing itself tasted of basically nothing more than mayonnaise and chili sauce. In addition, there was so MUCH of the sauce that it was just a bunch of goosh that all but obliterated the taste of the shrimp, even after more than doubling the shrimp to compensate. While this was a pretty salad, it unfortunately wasn't to our liking. There is just too much wrong with this recipe, other than using a different dressing entirely, to offer any helpful suggestions to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
WOW...I can't say enough about this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except I cut up the avocados into the salad and just piled the shrimp on the lettuce. The dressing was tasted delicious (we loved how spicy it was), but next time I will try half mayo/half sour cream. This is a good recipe if you want to impress people!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Very yummy! I used salad shrimp and the fake crab meat. As other people have already stated I used the avocado in the salad. The presentation was very nice. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I just tried this recipe and it is yummy! I too used only half of the worcestershire sauce. Since I love spicy food, I added more chili sauce and a little more lemon juice for more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I put the paprika in the dressing...nice taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I was looking for a shrimp and avocado salad reminiscent of a salad i had in France, but this was the closest recipe to it, so i needed to get sold on something a little spicy. I looked at another recipe (Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans) for the sauce on this site as well, and used this recipe + 1 Tbsp. Creole mustard and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice in in the sauce as the other recipe called for. The mustard and lemon juice added flavor and it was delicious, but possibly not thick enough. Try adding all the called for ingred. and then testing it with mustard and lemon juice. I also just sliced the avocados and placed the shrimp mixture on top of them for ease. Also, make sure you dry your shrimp very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I love spicy stuff, but found this a little too spicy. Next time Ill stick to 1T chili sauce (I used the oriental chili sauce for the garlic and touch of heat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States