Shrimp Alfredo Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was good, but I felt that it was missing something. Therefore, I seasoned and sauted my shrimp in a skillet instead of boiling them. Afterwards,I did place them in the bowl of butter for 15 minutes. I used fresh garlic and mushrooms. I sauted the garlic, onions, and mushrooms togehter. I used penne pasta instead of angel hair. All and all it was good, but next time I think I'll try making homemade alfredo sauce. But I will keep this recipe. ** Also, this was very quick and easy, which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is an easy and great recipe. My family loved it. Soaking the shrimp in butter made it better. I actually added a little bit of garlic powder to the butter, we love garlic! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
I came up with a very similar recipe to this on my own and I make it at least once a month - whenever I can get shrimp on sale. I use pre-cooked frozen baby shrimp, though, which makes preparation easier. Also, try red bell pepper instead of green for a slightly different flavor. Sometimes I add chopped roma tomatoes or sundried tomatoes, or frozen peas and shredded carrots. It turns out different, but delicious, every time. And people at work always think my leftovers look better than their lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
This was fantastic. I made a very quick and easy version. I used precooked shrimp and refrigerated linguine. I also took frozen green pepper, red pepper and onion mix and threw it into my mini chopper. Oh and I only used a 1/4 cup of butter and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
The jarred Alfredo Sauce turned me off immediately. Green bell peppers and shrimp do not go together. And cumin?? I would omit all three, use a refrigerated Alfredo (like Butoni) and use a red bell pepper. And FRESH GARLIC IS A MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
While I did make some changes, I think is a great recipe. I halved it just because I was the only one eating dinner tonight. I also cut the butter waayyy down to about 3 1/2 Tbs. and it was plenty. I really like the idea of marinating the shrimp in the butter though, I just couldn't bring myself to use that much. I also omitted the onions and green pepper, but added a half pound of mushrooms that I sauteed in a bit of olive oil first. After sauteeing the mushrooms, I added the shrimp and alfredo sauce to the pan and let that all simmer together while the pasta cooked. I also threw in some dried parsley. Finally, I'm sorry but I just could not bring myself to put cumin in this. I just didn't think it would fit my tastes. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
mmm mmmm mmm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Not bad at all. I was hesitant to add extras, but next time I will. Although it was full of flavor. My hubby liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
i thought the recipe and dish were great, we embellished just a bit when we doubled it to handle the table-load and instead of doubling shrimp we added two lbs of bay scallops, it was very well received. Our next alteration will include broccoli and mushrooms. Thank u for a great dish. It was easy and great just as presented....jeff n robin in alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
okay, so, first off: marinating your shrimp in butter? that's disgusting. you do not need the extra fat from butter to make this dish taste delicious. so i skipped that step entirely, & instead i sauteed them with 2 tbsp of butter, garlic, & a my own combination of fresh herbs from my personal garden. & instead of cumin, i used cayenne, & since we didn't have green bell pepper, i used asparagus. & i made my own alfredo. a very, very basic dish, brought together with little creativity. overall, a 2 star dish. it's nothing special until you add your own twist to it, which i did & it was yuuummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States