Shredded Tri-Tip for Tacos in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Perfect and easy. I make a lot and freeze for later use. Good for taco,enchiladas, chimichangas... I don't use the ancho and add my cayenne toward the end , as the slow cooker intensifies heat. I also add a spoonful of purebred chili in Adobe sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Great recipe! Though instead of all the beef I only added half and the rest was chorizo. I also added one green pepper and fresh tomatoes rather than canned. Came out perfect! Thank you for the great taco recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious and easy to make We. drained the excess liquid. We used this in tacos for dinner and then made yummy breakfast burritos with eggs, potatoes and cheese added to the meat. Definitely a keeper. I agree that people shouldn't give it a low rating because they don't understand the spices they are working with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used just over 1/4 of the pepper spices and it was still at my max! I quickly pulled some meat to the side out (prior to shredding) so my teenage son could have something for dinner too. Additionally I also made some plain rice to serve this over instead to cut the heat. Guess I'll use the tortillas I bought for this another night. WARNING: season to taste - SPICY!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made this last night and it was SO good! I read the reviews about spiciness and knowing my kids don't like spicy, I substituted the ancho chili and cayenne for taco seasoning. So, so yummy - it was a hit with all 3 boys and husband - a tough feat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
very plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
One of my favorites!!! We make this for camping every year and also to take on the boat. So easy to reheat! Of course we have all the typical sides for the tacos. I do cut all the peppers in half and do a bit more chili pepper than cayenne for flavor. (Just because my children and I cannot do very spicy!) I also rub the roast generously (with about 1/2 the container of mccormick roasted red pepper and garlic spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Great Recipe, my wife loved it and wants to use the sauce on pasta. I will give it a try and see how it works out. There were so many flavors and I love slow cooker recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeinVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Great flavor but did make some changes so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids.. Seared meat then rubbed with a package of taco seasoning mix. Used 1- 10oz can of Rotel cilantro lime tomatoes & 1 - 4.5oz can chopped green chiles. Also used 1/2 the amount of white wine. Made more than enough liquid. This will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Delicious! I was worried that it would be too stringy, but it actually turned out great. I used two 4 oz. cans of mild diced green chiles and half of the called for cayenne pepper so that my kids could eat it. It was great, lots of good flavor without being too spicy for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States