Shredded Potato Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
These are the best salmon patties I have ever made. For simplicity and budget, I used canned salmon (the bone in kind) and room temp frozen hash browns. I did leave out the bell and banana peppers since they aren't something my family likes. I would not have liked them with the peppers, the added spice was not needed with the other flavors, so that is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were good (left out the capers because I can't stand them) but I have to admit, the presence of the potato wasn't really noted. I think next time I'll go ahead and cook the potato and have it on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
The potatoes did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I’m not the biggest fish person but I absolutely enjoyed this recipe. Don’t let it fool you but there is actually a good serving of vegetables within each salmon cake! This was a pretty easy recipe to make as well. It would have been excellent with cooked flaked salmon as mentioned in the recipe but I only had canned which worked out fine. When you cook these, don’t be afraid to get a really good golden brown on each side. This way it will have a crispy shell with a tender interior. What really brings this together is the topping. I chose mayonnaise and sriracha which was a heavenly combination for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I personally would give this recipe a 3 star rating and call it uninspired and bland. It tastes like potatoes and salmon, just boring. It was easy to throw together with canned salmon however. It gained a star when my 7 year old told me this was one of the best things we've ever had for supper and my husband also said they were really good. I also did like them better reheated the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Fantastic! These were exceptional. I omitted the mushrooms and banana peppers, added two minced shallots, and used two cans of sockeye salmon instead of fresh. Served it with a mixture of mayonnaise, paprika, mango chutney and chipotle pepper. Placed on a bed of mixed field greens, this would be easily served in a high class restaurant! Well deserved of the five out of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mayo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used canned salmon...wonderfulllllllllll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
they were ok. need more spices or something. will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This was a great recipe! However I did change a few things around... Instead of the Italian seasoning I used lemon pepper seasoning. I also left out the capers, banana peppers and mushrooms. Instead I used only red pepper, yellow onion and shredded carrot. Served with a little garlic mayo and steamed broccoli! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethMc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Runnemede, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Left out Italian seasoning, mushrooms, and banana peppers. Used dill to season instead. A little taste of last summer with frozen salmon and garden potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaskamojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States