Shredded Potato Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used canned salmon...wonderfulllllllllll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I’m not the biggest fish person but I absolutely enjoyed this recipe. Don’t let it fool you but there is actually a good serving of vegetables within each salmon cake! This was a pretty easy recipe to make as well. It would have been excellent with cooked flaked salmon as mentioned in the recipe but I only had canned which worked out fine. When you cook these, don’t be afraid to get a really good golden brown on each side. This way it will have a crispy shell with a tender interior. What really brings this together is the topping. I chose mayonnaise and sriracha which was a heavenly combination for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Fantastic! These were exceptional. I omitted the mushrooms and banana peppers, added two minced shallots, and used two cans of sockeye salmon instead of fresh. Served it with a mixture of mayonnaise, paprika, mango chutney and chipotle pepper. Placed on a bed of mixed field greens, this would be easily served in a high class restaurant! Well deserved of the five out of five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mayo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
The potatoes did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Really, really good!!! Similiar to most recipies, this one is flexible so I used 3 eggs. Because I didn't have freshly cooked salmon (which would have been wonderful), I used 3 cans of Sockeye and used some fresh herbs..also I used lemmon pepper..and that made a big difference. What really grabbed my guests...I served this dish with Mango Salsa!!! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
We really liked this one. Following another reviewer's suggestion, I used 2 cans of salmon so it was super easy to prepare and I did not have to get anything special from the grocery store. This is a terrific mid-week meal. I do not have italian seasoning so I used oregano, basil, salt and pepper. I also made a spicy mayonnaise dipping sauce by adding cayenne, salt, pepper and some juice from the capers to some mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Delicious! I left the mushrooms out as one suggested and I used a bag of OreIda shredded potatoes - just thawed and mixed in. I did also add a little lemon pepper - very tasty. My two little ones - age 2 and 5 loved them too. They used ketchup to dip, my husband and I liked the suggested dip of Mayo, cayenne, salt, pepper, and juice from jar of capers. Thanks for sharing this one. I just had some leftover grilled salmon I wanted to use for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Excellent salmon recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroleena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These were good (left out the capers because I can't stand them) but I have to admit, the presence of the potato wasn't really noted. I think next time I'll go ahead and cook the potato and have it on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockbourne, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I personally would give this recipe a 3 star rating and call it uninspired and bland. It tastes like potatoes and salmon, just boring. It was easy to throw together with canned salmon however. It gained a star when my 7 year old told me this was one of the best things we've ever had for supper and my husband also said they were really good. I also did like them better reheated the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States