Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Easy and fast for dinner. My kids ate it without complaints, though my 4 year old picked out the ham pieces first. I didn't really get the potato crust brown until it was baking with the filling. Maybe a few minutes under the broiler before filling? I am making again on Saturday for a sorority brunch. I think it will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslee Haylett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
This is a great dish! I made it to take to work when we were sampling different quiche recipes and everyone loved it. I reduced the amount of butter to 1 Tbsp. instead of 1/4 cup. I made another one for my friends to taste and they loved it to. Great recipe Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
The combination of ingredients made for a good tasting quiche, but I tried this recipe for the potato crust which I found to be dissapointing. I couldn't get it to brown nicely (even under the broiler). I may try again, with more potatoes, and maybe some flour and egg to bind it together. The filling leaked through the potato crust and stuck to the bottom of the pan. I would also season the crust a bit more. A good recipe that needs a bit of tweaking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I love the concept of this recipe, but I also had trouble getting the crust to brown. I even turned the oven up 25 degrees while baking it. I will keep playing with it though because it is so good. The nice thing about it is I can enjoy a quiche and don't have to mess with making a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Also very good with chorizo and monterey jack cheese. I also had trouble getting the crust to brown, but liked the way the egg filled in the gaps in the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I have made this recipe several times with some changes. I shred potatoes instead of using frozen. After browning the potatoes in the oven, I layer some shredded cheese and sliced ham to keep the egg from baking through the potatoes. I also put the cheese on top instead of mixing with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This recipe came out perfect for me. The quiche held up well, and wasn't too eggy like other quiches. The hasbrowns did not brown, even putting them under the broiler for a few minutes, but this did not take away from the recipe. VERY EASY and quick. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is a wonderful quiche recipe! The potatoes browned nicely on the outside as they should, they're not going to brown on the inside with the filling...I think if you bake the crust too long before adding the filling, it would be overdone and too crunchy. I mixed the seasonings, hash browns, and butter together in a bowl before pressing into the pan. I thought it was terrific and much better than the traditional pie crust. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I've been making this recipe for several years now. My husband likes it better than a traditional pie crust quiche. The only difference in the way I prepare it is to press the thawed hash browns between sheets of paper towel pressing as much moisture out as possible. Then after putting in the pan and brushing with butter, it gets baked at 425 for 25 minutes. That makes a well browned crust instead of damp and mushy. Make the egg and milk mixture adding any combination of meats, chopped vegetables and cheese. Be sure to test the center of the quiche for doneness before removing from oven (a knife inserted in middle comes out clean). A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
I loved this recipe. I did not use all the butter that it called for, actually I used the spray marg. to cut down on calories. I bought sliced swiss and layed it on the bottom of the potatoes then chopped frozen and squeezed dried spinach then poured the eggs on top and then added more cheese. I used 3 whole eggs and 2 whites and the milk was a can of evaporated skim milk. It was lower in calories but fabulous. I will make this again and in muffin tins for brunch with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States