Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I like the concept, however, the potato's didn't crisp on the bottom as much as I hoped it would. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I made this with grated, leftover baked potatoes. Sprayed the dish with Pam, then sprayed the grated potatoes with spray Parkay and sprinkled on some seasoning salt. I added some broccoli and added some canned french fried onion rings to the top. It was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This recipe was so good that I made it for dinner two nights in a row! I took the advice that someone had posted earlier and pressed the potatoes between paper towels to get rid of excess moisture- that makes the potatoes nice and crispy! This is a great recipe, especially for people who don't really like pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
I loved this recipe. I did not use all the butter that it called for, actually I used the spray marg. to cut down on calories. I bought sliced swiss and layed it on the bottom of the potatoes then chopped frozen and squeezed dried spinach then poured the eggs on top and then added more cheese. I used 3 whole eggs and 2 whites and the milk was a can of evaporated skim milk. It was lower in calories but fabulous. I will make this again and in muffin tins for brunch with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I've been making this recipe for several years now. My husband likes it better than a traditional pie crust quiche. The only difference in the way I prepare it is to press the thawed hash browns between sheets of paper towel pressing as much moisture out as possible. Then after putting in the pan and brushing with butter, it gets baked at 425 for 25 minutes. That makes a well browned crust instead of damp and mushy. Make the egg and milk mixture adding any combination of meats, chopped vegetables and cheese. Be sure to test the center of the quiche for doneness before removing from oven (a knife inserted in middle comes out clean). A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is a wonderful quiche recipe! The potatoes browned nicely on the outside as they should, they're not going to brown on the inside with the filling...I think if you bake the crust too long before adding the filling, it would be overdone and too crunchy. I mixed the seasonings, hash browns, and butter together in a bowl before pressing into the pan. I thought it was terrific and much better than the traditional pie crust. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This recipe came out perfect for me. The quiche held up well, and wasn't too eggy like other quiches. The hasbrowns did not brown, even putting them under the broiler for a few minutes, but this did not take away from the recipe. VERY EASY and quick. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I have made this recipe several times with some changes. I shred potatoes instead of using frozen. After browning the potatoes in the oven, I layer some shredded cheese and sliced ham to keep the egg from baking through the potatoes. I also put the cheese on top instead of mixing with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Also very good with chorizo and monterey jack cheese. I also had trouble getting the crust to brown, but liked the way the egg filled in the gaps in the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I love the concept of this recipe, but I also had trouble getting the crust to brown. I even turned the oven up 25 degrees while baking it. I will keep playing with it though because it is so good. The nice thing about it is I can enjoy a quiche and don't have to mess with making a pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States