Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by 17sugars
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This made an easy dinner. I used a bag of refrigerated, not frozen, hash browns and I added one chopped and sauteed medium onion to the potato because I suspected it would need something more. I cooked the potato crust for 30 minutes on 450 to get it as crispy as possible before adding the egg mixture. I had sliced swiss, not shredded, and I used about 10 oz of that, diced. I think it may have been too much b/c the dish was very cheesy, but my husband loved it! I accidentally cooked it on 350, not 375, so this took more than 20 minutes fo me. And once it came out, it should have sat 5-10 minutes because it was very runny. All in all, a good recipe I might try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
For some reason my potato crust did not get brown and crisp. In the finished quiche, they still were white and raw tasting. Otherwise the recipe was very good. I added canned artichokes, drained and chopped, and some sauteed sweet onion. They were good additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Nothing special, but nothing to complain about. Fine if you'd just like to try a different take on quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Very good use of our leftover Easter ham! I used more hash browns, patted them into a larger pan, used 2 cups of cheddar cheese instead of swiss, and doubled everything else except the butter. I prefer casseroles such as this with bread, because even with the extra browning step, the potatoes don't get crisp enough for me. We still enjoyed it--thanks Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Wonderful...tastes great, easy to make and pleases even my most picky eater...what more could you ask for...Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great, easy to make recipe. I added cooked sausage to mine and used the spray butter instead of all the butter it called for. It turned out fantastic. My 2 year old daughter ate nearly 1/4 by herself! Great recipe Susan! I submitted a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Very nice for a Sunday morning brunch. I cooked the heck out the potatoes, as suggested by other reviewers, but they still ended up tasting more like mashed potatoes on the bottom. It didn't matter though, because everyone agreed that the flavor was lovely. I used some shredded smoked gouda and scallions in this quiche as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
It was very good. I used skim milk and it still turned out fluffy. Also, My grocery store did not have shredded potatoes so I used small round hash browns and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L-Iron Chef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This recipe tasted great once it was finished. However I did have a hard time getting the hash browns to turn. When I finally added the rest of the ingredients the bottom tasted more like mashed potatoes than hash brown, but it was still good. I did add spinach on the top wich I thought made the dish great. This is a great recipe though, next time I will plan on more time for baking the potatoe crust! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States