Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I doubled this recipe because I had several people to feed. I used a 9x13 inch casserole dish. I used fresh potatoes and grated them into the bottom of the dish, tossed them with a little garlic salt, pepper and a couple cloves of minced garlic. Baked according to the directions and proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I did use bacon instead of ham, mozzarella instead of swiss, added goat cheese, chopped zucchini, chopped yellow squash and pepper flakes. Since I used a larger container to cook it, it took longer to bake, 40 minutes later, we had a delicious dinner! Thank you! I was looking for something that used potato instead of pie crust. This was spot on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I wasn't wild about this, though the two eating with me liked it. Meh. (If you're someone whose favorite part of the quiche is the crust, then no matter how much you love hash browns, this will probably be a letdown.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used sausage and it was great. I browned the hash browns in the oven Christmas Eve and browned the sausage. Christmas morning, I just threw it all together and cooked it in the oven for 20 minutes. everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe. I find the cook time to be longer than indicated here, but otherwise it's an easy recipe to make and the results are filling and delicious. I always made this recipe with bacon instead of the ham, and I usually modify this recipe by adding 2 cups of chopped up vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, peppers). If you add veggies you'll want to add an extra egg and some extra cheese to adequately cover the vegetables. A few reviewers have suggested adding chopped onion, but when I tried this I found that the onion flavor really overpowered the dish, so I never add onions anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
WoW! I just made and ate this quiche...ate a slice that is. I made a couple of substitutions with the cheese. I used Asiago, sharp cheddar, and parmesan. I suteed mushrooms and onions, then added freshly grated potatos. After they were browned I added the mixture to my pammed pie pan. I also substituted scrapple as I had no more bacon or ham. While browning the hashbrowns the scrapple was cooking in the oven. I aso added 2 more eggs as 5 left a very thin layer over the other ingredients. It turned out great! Absolutely delicious. Thank you for this easy and dellicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Loved it. Used potatoes obrien instead, and cheddar cheese instead of swiss. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is tasty. I had to cook it way longer than the instructions stated (20 minutes longer) and I think it's because the potatoes were thawed but COLD from being in the fridge. It threw off the cooking time quite a bit. I omitted the butter and used Pam spray to brown the potatoes (because it's less calories and I'm lazy, too) and I omitted the milk entirely so that I wouldn't have a wet filling (we like our quiches on the omelet side of done). I think in the future I would bring my potatoes to room temp while draining them in a colander or something. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was really good. Needed to cook a little longer to make it more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Placed all ingredients in a rectangular dish rather than pie dish and will very please with outcome. Wasn't too crazy with the leftovers, but nothing went wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is really good thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States