Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe. I find the cook time to be longer than indicated here, but otherwise it's an easy recipe to make and the results are filling and delicious. I always made this recipe with bacon instead of the ham, and I usually modify this recipe by adding 2 cups of chopped up vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, peppers). If you add veggies you'll want to add an extra egg and some extra cheese to adequately cover the vegetables. A few reviewers have suggested adding chopped onion, but when I tried this I found that the onion flavor really overpowered the dish, so I never add onions anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
WoW! I just made and ate this quiche...ate a slice that is. I made a couple of substitutions with the cheese. I used Asiago, sharp cheddar, and parmesan. I suteed mushrooms and onions, then added freshly grated potatos. After they were browned I added the mixture to my pammed pie pan. I also substituted scrapple as I had no more bacon or ham. While browning the hashbrowns the scrapple was cooking in the oven. I aso added 2 more eggs as 5 left a very thin layer over the other ingredients. It turned out great! Absolutely delicious. Thank you for this easy and dellicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Loved it. Used potatoes obrien instead, and cheddar cheese instead of swiss. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is tasty. I had to cook it way longer than the instructions stated (20 minutes longer) and I think it's because the potatoes were thawed but COLD from being in the fridge. It threw off the cooking time quite a bit. I omitted the butter and used Pam spray to brown the potatoes (because it's less calories and I'm lazy, too) and I omitted the milk entirely so that I wouldn't have a wet filling (we like our quiches on the omelet side of done). I think in the future I would bring my potatoes to room temp while draining them in a colander or something. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was really good. Needed to cook a little longer to make it more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Placed all ingredients in a rectangular dish rather than pie dish and will very please with outcome. Wasn't too crazy with the leftovers, but nothing went wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is really good thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I used about 4-5 cups frozen shredded potato mixed with 1/4 c canola oil, salt and pepper. Baked that in 425 oven for 20 min. For the filling I added bacon, diced onion, corn, and peas, and decreased the cheese to 1/2 cup of mozarella. Baked that in 375 oven for 25 min (at 20 min it wasn't done yet). I really liked how the potato browned on the bottom of the pie plate and the edges were crunchy. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I enjoyed this. Be sure to cook the potatoes until they START to brown before adding the egg mixture. Add vegetables if you like. It is really wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was alright. A little too much potato for me. That's pretty much all I could taste. I was hoping the crust would've been crispier, but it was pretty mushy. I patted dry the thawed potatoes as others suggested, and baked for at least 15 minutes before adding the egg mixture. I also had to bake the egg mixture longer than the instructions stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States