Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I thought this was missing something - a lot of flavor. I switched out the ham for bacon based on what I had, but followed the rest of the recipe to the T (with the exception of shredding my own potatoes). I did have the problem of the sogginess because I didn't pat dry the potatoes, but we weren't going to eat it the day of anyways - I was making it for breakfasts to take to work. I do think my bacon was bland and that didn't help, but I think seasonings are needed here. I wish I could have loved this more - it was easy tho a little time consuming as compared to other breakfast casseroles and I don't know that I will take the time to play with seasonings to get this right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
The only change I made was cooking the potatoes about 25 minutes. It was rather bland as is so some other additions might be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
It is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dudemeister
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I gave it 5 stars just for the hash brown crust idea. Never thought of that before! I added some chopped red onion and sliced fresh mushrooms, used cheddar instead of mozzarella, and added some chopped hot peppers (Serrano, habanero, datil and thai chiles)to give it some zing. it really makes the crust like crunchy hashbrowns if you use a stoneware pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dudemeister

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very good base recipe. Great gluten free idea for an alternative to a regular crust. I used shredded left over baked potatoes instead of frozen hash browns and olive oil instead of butter. Cooking time for the "crust" was 18 minutes. The amount of milk requested seemed too much so I used 1/8 cup. I made two of these. One with the ingredients above and the other using fresh spinach instead of ham and adding some parmigiano reggiano cheese. The original was a bit bland. Maybe Swiss cheese is too mild. Thank you for this recipe. I will definitely use this as a base for more recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I thought this was pretty good. I loved how quick it was to throw together. I made a couple of subs, for what I had on hand. I used Simply Potatoes southwestern blend shredded potatoes. If making this, I recommend a more flavored potato. This casserole is about half potatoes. I also subbed the ham with turkey breakfast sausage I made the other day from the site. Lastly, I didn't have swiss cheese. I had a shredded cheddar blend with cream cheese. So, I went with that. I used the same proportion of everything, except the cheese I only had a little over a cup. I thought the calories seemed high, but then realized it only showed the recipe as 4 servings. A 9x9 pan can easily be cut into 8 regular servings. I baked the hash browns for 25 minutes. There was only slight browning on the edges at that point. So, maybe an additional 5 minutes would have been good for a more crisp consistency. I had this problem with similar layered hash brown casseroles calling for pre-baking them. It always takes longer than suggested to crisp up. Once I added the eggs, it took 25 more minutes for them to set up. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Yum. Put very little cheddar cheese with potatoes. Helps brown potato crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I used 3 raw potatoes and shredded them added some shredded red onio sea salt/peper and 2 T of flour to potato mixture patted on bottom of pie plate and drizzled with olive oil and baked 20 minutes at 400. Then I put one can of artichoke hearts halved on the bottom and them 10 diced greek olives over chokes and then poured egg mixture over and placed sliced tomotoes on top with feta cheese. Divine! Bake another 20 minutes at 375. I did add some garlic powder to egg mixture and 1 t. itailan seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Photo by CookinginSnowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I liked this recipe- But I took some liberty with this one (Who can mess up quiche?) and I used a half package of Chorizo and cooked that up in a skillet with some white onion and added it to the potato before I added the ham and eggs. I topped with a 1/2 cup of Manchego cheese. It was a great Christmas morning breakfast for us. I gave it 4 stars and really enjoyed it - but I think I will have to be more discerning with my 5 stars for future reference. DH really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginSnowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Pretty tasty, I just added vegetables that I wanted in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States