Shredded Potato Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
The first quiche I've ever made and it turned out "good" in my husband's words - who is THE chef in the family. I melted the butter first in the oven, added a chopped onion to that, pressed the thawed potatoes and baked for 25 minutes, then added the egg mixture. Baked for 30 more minutes. Let it cool for about 10 minutes befor cutting. Wonderful brunch idea. Thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This was very good and quite easy for a dinner in a hurry. It needed some extra seasoning though. Some zip. I'll have fun toying around with it util then. I would happily recommend it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Okay, so now I will never again use a pastry crust for quiche!! Which is good, because I'm sensitive to wheat and this is SO much easier. Don't worry about crisping the bottom, it probably won't happen even if you bake it longer (which I did) and it doesn't matter. An EXCELLENT way to make the filling is with diced pepperoni and cheddar (instead of the ham and swiss) with the additions of green pepper, onion, and some tomato if you wish. If you're worried about leakage through the crust, put a few slices on Buddig meat (ham, turkey, whatever) to coat the bottom before adding filling. This went over BIG at Christmas brunch. I'm telling you, you've got to try the pepperoni and cheddar combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I like the concept, however, the potato's didn't crisp on the bottom as much as I hoped it would. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I made this with grated, leftover baked potatoes. Sprayed the dish with Pam, then sprayed the grated potatoes with spray Parkay and sprinkled on some seasoning salt. I added some broccoli and added some canned french fried onion rings to the top. It was truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
This recipe was so good that I made it for dinner two nights in a row! I took the advice that someone had posted earlier and pressed the potatoes between paper towels to get rid of excess moisture- that makes the potatoes nice and crispy! This is a great recipe, especially for people who don't really like pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
I loved this recipe. I did not use all the butter that it called for, actually I used the spray marg. to cut down on calories. I bought sliced swiss and layed it on the bottom of the potatoes then chopped frozen and squeezed dried spinach then poured the eggs on top and then added more cheese. I used 3 whole eggs and 2 whites and the milk was a can of evaporated skim milk. It was lower in calories but fabulous. I will make this again and in muffin tins for brunch with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I've been making this recipe for several years now. My husband likes it better than a traditional pie crust quiche. The only difference in the way I prepare it is to press the thawed hash browns between sheets of paper towel pressing as much moisture out as possible. Then after putting in the pan and brushing with butter, it gets baked at 425 for 25 minutes. That makes a well browned crust instead of damp and mushy. Make the egg and milk mixture adding any combination of meats, chopped vegetables and cheese. Be sure to test the center of the quiche for doneness before removing from oven (a knife inserted in middle comes out clean). A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
This is a wonderful quiche recipe! The potatoes browned nicely on the outside as they should, they're not going to brown on the inside with the filling...I think if you bake the crust too long before adding the filling, it would be overdone and too crunchy. I mixed the seasonings, hash browns, and butter together in a bowl before pressing into the pan. I thought it was terrific and much better than the traditional pie crust. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
This recipe came out perfect for me. The quiche held up well, and wasn't too eggy like other quiches. The hasbrowns did not brown, even putting them under the broiler for a few minutes, but this did not take away from the recipe. VERY EASY and quick. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States