Shredded French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I was divided between this recipe and French Dip Sandwiches by Giselle from this site so I sort of combined the two and it turned out incredible! All I added to this was 1/2 c. of soy sauce, 1 tsp. of minced garlic, 1 tsp. of rosemary, and 1 tsp. of thyme. During the last 4 hours of cooking I also added a large onion sliced into 1/2 inch rings. I broiled the rolls with swiss cheese and these were some of the best french dip sanwiches ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Awesome and easy recipe:) I made a roast for lunch and it was too tough so I threw it into a crockpot with all of the ingredients except the Fr.Onion condensed soup as I did not have any, so I just added a 1/2 packet of Lipton Onion Soup Mix with 1 can of H2O and 6 hours later, I had wonderful French Dip sandwiches. (the meat was finally tender) I took the advice of some others and toasted the steak rolls and that was perfect, THANKS!!! Next time I will saute some mushrooms and put some cheese on them also!! THANKS AGAIN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
very good. make sure to use a crusty roll, I suggest lightly toasting the rolls under the broiler and melting a piece of mozzarella or provolone on top. make sure to use the au jus for dipping, it makes the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
UPDATE! I was the first to review this recipe and thought I'd share, I didn't have time for the crockpot so I browned it and cooked it in a pressure cooker and it was still fantastic. A little bit different flavor, so now I brown it before I put it in the crock pot -- WONDERFUL-- some Mozzerella cheese and of course MAYO on the toasted buns YUMMY This hit the spot!!! Fantastic flavor and super easy! I'll be making this on a regular basis, my husband raved about it. OH -- don't forget to put mayo on your bun after it's toasted!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Yummy to the max, with a couple of substitutions I made. I subbed the consomme for red wine and used French Onion Soup from the carton, that is ready to eat. Worked wonderfully, I used a sirloin tip roast and cooked it until it was tender but not falling apart. After letting it rest for a bit it Sliced for the sandwiches excellently. Definitely will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Easy Easy Easy and delicious French Dip. Followed directions exactly and everyone loved it. Had leftovers and fixed them this way. Julienned green peppers and onions and sauted in olive oil on stove top grill. Then added shredded beef to heat. Divided into portions and topped with pepper jack cheese. Heat until cheese melts. Transfer portions onto toasted hoagie rolls. Cut on diagonal for dipping in remaining au jus. I'm craving these again just writing about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
this is AWESOME! as good as most restaurant french dips. I served it on a halved french baguette, no other changes, it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSTRAIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
this was really good. i would not recommend just putting the meat on the bread. i broiled the buns til they were toasty and then i put a slice of american cheese on it to melt. i put mayonaise afterwards and then the meat. it was very tasty. otherwise if you dont add anything else its pretty plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Yummy ! Keep in mind that it shrinks when you cook it in a slow cooker. I wish I would have bought more meat. Toasting a roll w/ butter and garlic powder and then throwing it back under the broiler w/ pepper jack cheese made it extra tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Yummy! The whole family loved this and it was so easy. Like some other reviewers, I broiled some split hoagie type rolls first, after that I added the beef, topped off with some swiss cheese and back in the broiler a minute to melt the cheese. This is going to be a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States