Shredded French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Yeah! I made these for my sister's birthday because she loves french dips. She was totally happy with them! I doubled the recipe because between us, our kids and hubbies are big eaters. I also sauteed some onions, green peppers, and mushrooms for the ones that wanted that kind of thing. I buttered and toasted the deli rolls before assembling the sandwiches and after, layered on sliced provolone and stuck under the broiler until the cheese melted. As for the broth...I wanted a clear broth with as little grease as possible. However, I didn't think of making these far enough in advance to stick it in the fridge to solidify. Nor do I have a seperator. I DO have a hand-held mesh strainer (I would guess it's about 2 cup size or so). I placed a coffee filter inside it, placed it over a saucepan, ladled in some broth, and let it strain through. When all of that broth was through and just sludge was left in the bottom of the filter, I changed to a clean coffee filter and repeated. It took about 20 minutes and 10 coffee filters to strain a double batch of the broth, but it was SOOOO worth it. I just placed the saucepan over low heat and let it stay warm while I assembled the sandwiches. I am definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
So good! I don't have a slow cooker so I browned the roast in a pot added the liquid ingredients except for the onion soup, I added extra beef stock instead. Put a lid on and baked it in the oven for 3 hours at 350. Toasted a roll, sliced the roast added some swiss cheese and dipped it in the au jus. YUM! UPDATE: I brown the pot roast in my dutch oven, add 2 cans beef broth, 1 can beef consomme and simmer on the stove top for 4 1/2 hours. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This was easy to make and the whole family loved it. We followed the recipe as written except we added mushrooms just because we like mushrooms on our beef sandwiches. All we did was throw them in the cooker near the end. I don't think they changed the flavor of the recipe overall, they were just an added bonus that suits our particular tastes. I can also see other great possibilities using this recipe as a base, too, but it's so good the way that it is that I would be hesitant to tinker with it even though I generally tinker with recipes a great deal. When I asked my husband for a review of this one he said "the only I problem with the recipe was that I had to remind our son to swallow before stuffing his mouth again". Our entire family from age 4 to 44 was pleased with this one and we will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I didn't follow the directions 100%, but I will next time. I rushed it by cooking it on high for four hours rather than on low for 8. The meat wasn't as fall-apart as I thought it would be, but it was plenty tasty. I served it at a potluck with provolone and horseradish cheddar on the side. It's such a versatile recipe - thicken the juice with a little cornstarch and you have a really good gravy. You can spoon the mixture over a baked potato or make an open faced roast beef sandwich. Or add some mushrooms, a little sour cream and sherry, and serve over noodles as beef stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This gets 5 stars for ease and for flexibility. Taste wise, I had to add some garlic to spice it up a bit. My husband ate it on a toasted french roll with provolone cheese and peppers. I ate it as is. For leftovers, I stirred in some sour cream and had stroganoff. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Very good, I cooked it about 8 hours, added a extra can of beef broth because I could not find beef consomme. This was easy to prepare and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen McCleane Mullin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This was great I shredded only 1/2 of the roast to serve with the dip and sliced the other half for roast beef sandwiches the next day for lunches. Enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I have seen this recipe before in my Simple & Delicious hardcover cookbook and flagged the page b/c I wanted to try it. I was plesantly surprised to find it on Allrecipes.com! Made this for my bf and I (halved the recipe). We both liked it, but not enough (at least for me) to make again. I followed other reviewer's suggestions to toast my sub rolls and spread with a mayo/garlic spread. I liked the mayo, but my bf didn't : ) Served wtih three-bean salad (from a can) and curly fries (which are good dipped in the juice). Leftovers went untouched. A real bummer, especially b/c this is INSANELY easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Very good! I've never had french dip before so I have nothing to compare it to. I used a two pound roast just because I didn't want leftovers for a week. Also used a leaner cut of meat than called for. Other than that followed directions. Probably left it in slow cooker for 8 hours. the meat shredded great. The first time we had it we served it plain on the rolls. When we had it for leftovers, we added sauted mushrooms and cheese and made garlic bread ro serve it on. Oh yum! Will make the beef as written and serve with these changes. Loved the beef and sauce! Thanks for this great and super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Easy, and great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States