Shredded Chicken Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This wasn't really that great. I think one of the issues is that you really want your chicken slow-cooked for your tacos and this recipe just doesn't do it. Another problem is that it's very tomato-y, in a way that I wasn't expecting--it's almost Italian in its flavor. Weird. While cooking, I was hoping there would be a transformation in the taste as I simmered the sauce, but I was pretty disappointed in the result. I tried simmering for a longer time, hoping for more caramelization and sampling the whole time, but it never got there. The final tacos were saved by the other ingredients and salsa I whipped up, but I wouldn't repeat this recipe. I'll definitely try again on chicken tacos, but I don't think this recipe is worth tweaking to make it work out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Guerra
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Such a great recipe. I just throw everything in the crock pot with 5 boneless skinless chicken thighs (frozen) and cook on low for 6 hours. This is our go to shredded chicken taco recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I added a bit of lemon juice, about 1/4 cup chicken stock, jalapeño pepper, cheddar and mozzarella cheese and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Really enjoyed this recipe--exceptionally delicious chicken for tacos. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was good, my son really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This had a really authentic taste. I just moved from Texas where you could get Mexican street tacos on every corner to Memphis, TN where all the Mexican food is so americanized. So I have really been missing those flavors. I did manage to find some blue corn tortillas at a specialty store & they were amazing with this mix. Like most people, I did not have the goya products nor the adobo but there is a really simple recipe on this site for the adobo mix that is amazing. I believe its called Traci's adobo seasoning. Since its just me & my hubby we had a lot of chicken mixture left over. We warmed it up the next day & made the most awesome nachos ever with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Yummy and easy! A nice change from my regular beef tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
wonderful flavor! used the remaining meat from a rotisserie chicken and cooked / simmered for less time (since chicken was already cooked). turned out deliciously! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I have been meaning to share this since I made it two weeks ago. This receipe was so good and worked out great for left overs as well. The receipe does call for all Goya seasonings since it is a Goya receipe; however, I did not have the Goy a brand so I used the brands I already had of course. I also used boneless thin sliced chicken breast instead which worked out great. The chicken was so easy to shred which made me an even more happy camper. We could not find Adobo with pepper seasoning so we just used the basic Adobo seasoning. I love spice to my foods so I am sure if we'd had the Adobo with pepper it would have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This was very good and simple to throw in a slow cooker. I didn't use Goya products because I don't have any...but I keep all these things on hand, so this was a great pantry meal for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling

Perfect for Taco Tuesdays or any day of the week.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States