Shredded Chicken Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Pretty good. I used boneless chicken breasts and pretty much halved all of the spices (the amounts seemed to be too much for me) and I used about 1 tsp Adobo in the sauce. The filling was a little salty, but I used shredded lettuce, tomatoes and sour cream as toppings and they helped balance out the saltiness. I used crispy taco shells instead of corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I tried this for the first time tonight, and it was a big hit! I didn't have Goya brand anything, or any Adobo seasoning, so I made some with Traci's Adobo Seasoning recipe and it was great! Be careful about using chili powder or chipotle powder instead of Ancho powder, as they are much hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Really good! I only had frozen chicken breasts, so I put them in the crockpot on high for about 5 hours with some chicken broth. When they were done, I just shredded them and put the shredded chicken in a skillet with all of the other ingredients. I added some of the broth from the crockpot and simmered everything for about 20 minutes. My 14 year old picky eater ate two of these, so that gets 5 stars from me. **Note - these are also great using lettuce leaves instead of tortilla shells - nice crunch and no added calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
These chicken tacos are sooo delicious! I used a can of diced tomoatoes and a small can of tomato paste (didn't have sauce) and it was better I think. I also didn't have ancho chile powder but put in some chipotle pepper. I make my own adobo seasoning (recipe online) to season the chicken breasts (don't throw it in the tomato sauce). I used boneless skinless breasts, so I cut down their cooking time. The shredded, sauced chicken was perfect in a corn taco shell with shredded Mexican cheese, chopped onion and lettuce! A little more effort, but I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My husband really enjoyed this, but it was a little too tomato-y for me. I would probably reduce it with chicken broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jinx's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious, rather than doing it in a skillet, I boil water and add all the ingredients and boil the chicken inside it. Its so delicious and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
These were delicious! I didn't use any of the chili or hot sauce because my husband's allergic. I also didn't brown the chicken first. I just cut it into cubes and threw it in with the sauce to simmer a while. The whole family liked it, even the picky 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was excellent! I didn't have any Goya ingredients or the ancho (which I think makes a big difference, but I didn't have it on hand). So i used 3 t. chili powder and 1/8 t. chipotle powder to add the smokiness that ancho would provide. I also used just 1 t. of oregano because I had ground, not leaf. Altogether wonderful! Served in hard corn shells with cheese and guacamole. Our whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I don't know why I've never made this before, but it's AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Oh Yes. Better than authentic shredded beef tacos and way better than any other chicken taco I have ever tasted. I went under on all spice measurements as my family is sensitive to spicy food. Added more as needed. The COMBO of spices is wonderful. My family and I are so grateful this recipe was shared online. It tastes so good and is healthy! Can't beat THAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Firehouse Chicken and Steak Tacos

See how they make chicken and steak tacos down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States