Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Love this! Its a great way to eat brussel sprouts! I don't have any pine nuts on hand so I omitted those. I also used the bacon drippings only - no butter and a bit of chicken broth so they cooked without getting crispy and remained healthier than the butter method. I also used minced onion and garlic but only because I didn't have any green onion. I would love to try it with the green onion though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I halved the recipe, followed instructions except left out the pine nuts ( we don't care for them ) and added extra bacon for the bacon lovers here. Very tasty. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Went looking for a new way to prepare brussels sprout...So glad I did! I did sub pecans for the pine nuts, as that was all I had and used a jar of real bacon bits as a time saver. Both worked out great. When I warmed the leftovers I threw in a handful of golden raisins...so yummy! For those who find brussels sprouts too bitter, try a light sprinkle of red wine vinegar added just before they're done cooking. Thanks for a new easy family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
YUM! My family will not usually eat Brussel Sprouts. My kids at least ate these and my husband had seconds! They were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
SO good! I omitted the pine nuts, as I was out, and substituted shallots for the green onions, but OMG this was good!! The hubby loved too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
not bad - but not great either. I think they were a little heavy and greasy. Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I have made this dish many times. Most times I don't even add the pine nuts and it is still amazing. Most recently I added a bit of shredded parmigiana and it was super delicious! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Pretty good. Didn't use pine nut because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Just tried this out for the family tonight in hopes that they would like it enough for me to bring to this years Easter dinner. It did not disappoint and it was what everyone said it would be....delicious!! My daughter's boyfriend said that his mom makes a similar dish with Pancetta instead of the bacon...sounds good too but I think the bacon grease is needed and not sure if the flavor of the Pancetta would suffice without it. Okay, one dish down, another one to go! I love this website!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States