Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
If you typically steam or boil Brussels sprouts, you are going to love this recipe! I usually season them and saute in a butter/olive oil mixture; and for me, I didn't feel the extra time to crisp bacon, toast pine nuts, and chop onion added a significant dimension to the flavor, compared to that method. I enjoyed trying this recipe - thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I've made this three times in the last few weeks. Incredibly delicious. I've tried using only the the bacon grease, only butter, and a combo of both like the recipe states. The consensus was that the bacon grease was a must. Butter is good, too, but not absolutely necessary. Pine nuts were the best option, but they can be pretty expensive. You can skip them all together and still be ok, but you can also swap in chopped pecans or walnuts. Just something to add crunch. I didn't know how to shred the brussel sprouts (and was too lazy to figure it out), so I just quartered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
No one in my family liked this. All you could taste is bacon grease. It was overly greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I loved them! My husband ate them. That's more than I can say about regular Brussels though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Brown-Mineau

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I liked this recipe. We grow brussel sprouts in our garden and I am always looking for new ideas. I used a mandoline to grate the sprouts. I added chestnuts instead of the pine nuts and a bag of steamed brown rice and this was a great supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by izfo
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Awesome recipe, which I was handing out the link to after dinner because everyone wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great recipe-used macadamia nuts instead of pinenuts. Everyone loved this recipe, even my kids who do not like brussel sprouts at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
What a great way to cook brussels sprouts! I made this for a family dinner, and even my brother-in-law and nephew (who are extremely picky) enjoyed it. Don't be fooled by the seemingly small amount of brussels sprouts- this recipe makes plenty! As many said, I went a little lighter on the butter, and they were still quite rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Easy to make, smells good. Added 1T vinegar and 2 tsp sugar. No pine nuts on hand. 1 sweet onion instead of green onions. Can't wait to see how the family likes it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 413) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States