Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Here's what I did differently. Our family loves brussels sprouts, so it wasn't a hard transition for us. I quartered them, cooked the bacon and drained all the grease except 1/2 tbsp and only put in about 2 pats of butter. I halved the amount of pine nuts, added a bit of minced garlic (maybe about a tsp or so), then added the sprouts, cooked for about 8 minutes total topped with the crumbled bacon and freshly grated parm. It was exceptional. This is a good base recipe that you can change to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Previously have tried brussel sprouts twice and have hated them! Could barely swallow one. This recipe sure changed my opinion. I loved these and so did my husband. I will definitely being making this recipe over and over. I made it exactly as recipe called for. I didn't know how to shred so I used a sharp knife and sliced very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Love this recipe. I used to be among those who hated brussels sprouts, but this recipe has made a believer out of me. Shredding the sprouts very thin with a good, sharp knife and getting the pine nuts a bit toasty made the recipe. My husband keeps asking me to make it again! Another plus is the short ingredient list of things I usually have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe for sprouts! My family loved it. I didn't have pine nuts, so I just made it without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent change of pace. Recipe as written is excellent. Have also modified it to fit available ingredients and pretty much any type of nut is delicious (pecans are especially nice substitute for pine nuts). Reduced the amount of bacon and butter by half (to reduce calories) and flavor is still exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Nope...and I love brussel sprouts, but this just didn't make it for me. I ended up adding quite a bit of golden balsamic vinegar to try to counteract the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catholic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I love this recipe! It's a great blend of flavors and textures. Made it for holiday dinner - it was a big hit. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I didn't find it rave worthy. It was a decent dish, but not more so than my usual roasting of the brussels sprouts with seasoning and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I substituted the pine nuts with pecans and quartered them instead of shredding, but otherwise followed the recipe. Everyone liked this, but next time I'd try soaking the brussel sprouts in salt water as another reviewer suggested, as I still found them to have a slight bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States