Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This is fantastic for Brussels sprouts. I had some skeptical looks but they were really good. Thanks for the recipe. I did microwave the frozen sprouts for about 2 minutes before putting in the food processor & used some precooked bacon bits. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was very good; I did make a few adjustments based on my preferences and also recommendations by other reviewers. I skipped the butter & pine nuts. Used 2 tsp. of bacon grease and about 1/2 cup of chicken broth with some minced garlic with a bit of sea salt & black pepper as my sautee liquid. Cooked over medium heat for 7 minutes, and added 2 pieces of crumbled bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
what else can you say when brussel sprouts are good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayette, Missouri, USA
Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Excellent flavor although I used only 1 Tbsp. of bacon grease. It's hard for me to justify adding saturated fat to vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Better than I expected. Give these a shot and you will be glad you did. I trimmed the ends slightly and just cut them in half lengthwise. Cook the bacon, then add Brussels Sprouts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Very good! I sliced frozen sprouts instead of shredding fresh and found it worked very well, but it was quite "fiddly" to prepare. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
What a cool way to make Brussels Sprouts! They were in disguise...great for the kids. Everyone loved them including the Sprout detester in our house. I wish there was a good way to rewarm them for leftovers (there was so much, and I cut the recipe in half!). I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I did not care for this dish. I did make some changes as other reviewers had suggested - cut down the butter, quartered the sprouts vs. shredding and I used slivered almonds vs. pine nuts. I don't think these alterations made a significant difference in taste though. The recipe is just okay. Nothing to rave about. I will never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I make this recipe often, however I add a half cup or so of chicken stock. It smoothes out the bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Even the anti-sprouts people enjoyed these. Then again, I'd eat anything cooked in bacon fat and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States