Shredded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This has become a favorite in our home. Great texture and great color in this recipe. I have made this with pine nuts or with slivered almonds when pine nuts weren't available. This recipe also travels well to holiday dinners and potlucks, as long as you can keep it warm. However, it is so popular at our house that my daughter will eat it cold the next day from the fridge! Leftovers microwave decently, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Tried this tonight and it was fabulous. I just cut each sprout into sixths, used cooked bacon I had in the freezer. Warmed the bacon first in the pan, removed added 2-3 T butter and about 10-12 sprouts cut into sixths. I put in one green onion, 2-3 dashes of pepper and 2 dashes of season salt, 2 dashes of salt. I didn't have pine nuts. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Excellent quartered brussell sproats,used almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe is kind of insane, in a good way. Brussels sprouts are one of my favorite vegetables, and this just might be my new favorite way to prepare them. Coring and shredding the sprouts is a little time consuming but the results are well worth it. I prefer to omit the butter and *not* drain the bacon grease; I find the bacon fat more flavorful than butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
We've made this a few times now. I don't care for brussel sprouts but my husband loves them. I've finally found a recipe that we both LOVE with brussel sprouts! Thank you! It's a special treat for us. BTW Trader Joe's has brussel sprouts already shredded - save your knuckles ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
good recipe, I quartered brussels sprouts, too lazy to shred. and had no pine nuts so I used sliced almonds. Took a little longer to cook because of sprouts being larger. Everyone like it, will make again when time allows. I usually roast me sprouts, I find it easier than standing over a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie McLeod Boord

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this for thanksgiving dinner and they were a HIT!! Everyone loved them and they are very easy to make. I also added some gorgonzola cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Absolutely delish, the only thing on the Thanksgiving table that had no leftovers. I quartered the brussel sprouts as others suggested, added about 1-2 tbs. balsamic vinegar while cooking on the stovetop and then finished off in the oven for about 10 minutes for a wonderful nutty flavor. This will be our go-to holiday recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann & Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Everyone loves this! I've tried many recipes, none of which are nearly as tasty. Brussel Sprouts are often bitter or not very flavorful. This recipe has fantastic texture and flavor. I made it for a teachers appreciation luncheon and the teachers all loved it and wanted the recipe. It's a pretty dish and I am actually making it this year for Thanksgiving in lieu of the high sodium, mushy canned green bean casserole which no one seems to be able to do without. This, to me, seems like a fabulous alternative, much tastier AND healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaceflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States