Shredded Beef for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Yes, you really do put it in frozen! Chuck roasts work too, but NOT English-cut roasts (too fatty). This is just excellent, a favorite of our family - which includes 2 toddlers. I do modify it: skip the wine, use a 16 oz jar of mild salsa (Paul Newman is best!), skip the garlic & S&P since these are in the salsa. Then I increase the cilantro to use the entire bunch. The first couple of times I did this with rump & chuck roasts and they just fell apart with a fork easily shredding it. Sometimes I add a can of black beans, rinsed, to increase the protein (I'm crazy that way). Leftovers are great in other "All Recipes" like Beef Enchiladas II with Sara's Red Enchilada Sauce or in Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup (can substitute your leftovers for the can of chicken and some of the broth if you have lots). Just a great recipe. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Ok, I just finished serving these tacos to my family and wow...I mean WOW! What's better than throwing a hunk of frozen meat into the crockpot with a few other ingredients and leaving for the day, you ask? I'll tell you, it's coming home and having the meal not be mediocre, but actually INCREDIBLE! I followed the recipe exactly, and the meat was tender and the flavors mingled so well together. For those of you who had trouble finding the mexican hot tomato sauce, I found it at Wal-mart in the canned tomato section. Really, you must try this recipe, all 4 kids (even a picky 5 yr old) gobbled up their plates and had seconds. I warmed up some corn tortillas to wrap the meat, lettuce, cheese and sour cream in, then served these along side the Spanish Rice II recipe (also from this site), and delish! I'd give it more stars if I could. Thank you, Diana, for an easy and AMAZING meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Turned out wonderfully. I used a bottle of Corona instead of white wine. I also recommend adding just enough water to cover the roast completely. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I cooked up about 4-1/2 lbs of rump roast(weight after fat was trimmed off). It fed 9 adults and 4 children, not 16 as the recipe suggests. Unable to find Mexican tomato sauce, I used plain tomato sauce and added 1/2 tsp. ground cumin and 1-1/2 tsps. crushed oregano (not ground). The recipe made a juicy, delicious filling for our soft tacos. Our condiments included lime wedges, salsa, cheese, sour cream, guacamole, and olives. The only thing that disappointed me was how difficult it was to shred the cooked rump roast. Next time I'll go back to using a less expensive boneless chuck, which shreds like a dream. Otherwise, this was a big winner in our family's book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I used cumin, beer and rotel (diced tomatoes/chilies) along with the mexican sauce. The beef shredded nicely and I froze individual portions (which we're now using for burritos and quesadillas). For the ease of making it, it gets 5 stars, however, it could've used something to give it a little more oomph, which is why it got 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
The best tacos I've ever had! I threw the meat in frozen, used El Pato Hot Tomato Sauce and poured enough water to cover the meat. I also added some garlic, salt & pepper. These shredded beef tacos can give Chipotle's tacos a run for their money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I was a little skeptical about the frozen roast, but everything was delicious. I used a light white wine (Chardonay) and made sure to skim some fat off before shredding. If you don't want to spend a long time with a spoon, try lightly laying a paper towel on top of the liquid to pick up the fat on top. Excellent flavor and great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I have to review this amazing recipe! I had never so much as touched a rump roast before, so if I could do it, anyone can!! It was so easy and tasted incredible. The only things I added were some whole black peppercorns and chopped jalapenos (since we LOVE spicy.) Oh, and for those who couldn't find the Mexican tomato sauce, they had it at Pathmark in the Mexican food section (near salsa) in a yellow can in Spanish writing. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Very tasteful. I didn't use wine. I used a crockpot-using one can of medican hot tomato sauce. After the meat was cooked I dumped half the top sauce to cut down on the fat. I then aded the other can of mexican sauce, onions and cilantro. I cooked for an hour or less on high in the crock pot. Seved wonderful tacos the first day, burritos the second day, and great enchiladas on the second. Yum, I was in heaven eating my favorite foods! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I can't say enough good things about this recipe. It sounded too easy. I was amazed! I served this with grated cheese, sour cream and pico de gallo. To heck with regular old ground beef sytle taco's. This is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States