Shredded Beef for Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
OMG!!! Amazing and easy. I could not find the Mexican tomato sauce so I used (2) cans of tomatoes with green chili's and mixed in a can of tomato paste with the wine. Also added cumin from reading some of the reviews. Restaurant qauality. I cannot wait to make enchilada's tomorrow night with the leftovers. Bravo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
We loved this, even my son who is picky had seconds. I used Herez salsa (just because I could not find the spicy tomatoes). After I shredded the beef I thickened the juices and added some of it to the beef for added flavor. I will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This makes ALOT of taco meat. Great for freezing and using at a later date. I subsituted the mexican style hot tomatoe sauce with a can of rotel and 1 cup of ChiChi's chunky salsa (Medium) I have made this twice, once I used fresh cilantro and the other time, I used the tubed cilanto. I prefered the tubed cilantor vs fresh...seems like tubed cilantro is more concentraded
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I used ro tel diced tomatoes and green chilies and tomato paste instead of mexican style sauce. After all was cooked I reduced by about 25%. Was so good. Thanks. This is a good dish to do ahead for a big party you can always use soft shells put a little cheese inside and your good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Fabulous recipe... and so easy!! I've made this several times. The only thing I change is I use a can of beer instead of the wine. Sent the last batch with my hubby & his friends on a fishing weekend. They ate it for lunch & dinner. One of the guys said he even had some for breakfast! Might have to try that next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
The recipe is great, but it is very unsafe to put anything frozen---especially meat---in a slow cooker such as a crockpot. It should be thawed before placing it in a slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
There was very little flavor and two cans of sauce made too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Very plain and unflavorful shredded beef for tacos. If it wasn't for the ease of making (combine ingredients in slow cooker and leave it alone) I'd have rated this zero stars. A few suggestions to make it better: Add spices/seasonings (maybe onion powder, cumin, cayenne, crushed oregano (for the sonorans out there), or chili powder). After mixing the shredded beef back into the juice, put it under a broiler to make it slightly crispy. In all fairness, the meat did shred rather easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was very, very good and super easy. I piled mine on fried corn tortillas and topped with salsa fresca, cheddar cheese and sour cream. A great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! Very authentic tasting!!! I now love the shredded beef for tacos instead of ground beef!!! Again, this was AMAZING! Will make this from now on!!! (I used the green onion as a garnish.) Super Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States