Shredded Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Very good recipe! Even my children liked it! I made the beef in my crockpot and let it go all day. I used torn flour tortillas insteed if the corn tortillas and layered them in a 13x9 inch pan with 1/2 the sour cream mixture, 1/2 the beef, another layer of torn tortillas, and then repeated all layers. Topped off the last layer of tortillas with 2 Cups of cheese. The casserole approach saved time, and it was easier to dish up smaller portions for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I can't count the number of times I've made just the shredded beef portion (Step 1) of this recipe -- it's wonderfully tasty! I add the onions and green peppers to the meat while it is simmering, together with an 8-ounce can of La Costena home style Mexican hot sauce for extra zest. I always double the quantities for the sauce, too, because the tortillas soak up so much - and the flavor is so great, it's good to have extra. Try keeping some extra shredded beef in the sauce in the freezer for last-minute dinners. What a time-saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I'm going to give this a 4 stars for the meat. I seared the roast in some bacon drippings on it's own. I also added 1 can Rotel cilantro/lime tomatoes and a couple of smoked Chipotle chilies to braising ingredients. Once tender, shredded and then chopped coarsely. I didn't bother w/separate grn chili/sour crm/cheese sauce as I don't care for s.cream in the filling. Instead, I put the prepared beef in a bowl adding the grn chilies along with some of the cooking juice. At this point I store in fridge until next day. When I was ready to assemble I veered off from this recipe and finished up in my own style. I really like the shredded beef even if I added a couple ingredients. By cooking the meat a day ahead, I find making any style enchiladas that much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I'm actually cooking this now! and have a question- what are people usin for the red sauce that goes on top? Or is this recipe better with out? A few people mentioned it, and I didn't know if I should give it a try? Thanks for any feedback!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
The best Enchiladas recipe I have ever tried! Wonderful! To reduce effort, cook the pot roast in a crock pot for 4 hours on high with the beef broth, red wine vinegar, chili powder, and ground cumin as instructed (or cook about 2 to 2 1/2 hours on the stove top on low in a heavy covered pot until the roast is ready to fall apart). Skim fat from leftover broth because we want to take care of our hearts. Prepare as instructed in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I really liked these enchiladas. I didn't find them to be that time consuming, but I started with having some shredded beef and looking for a way to cook it, so I didn't spend time on that. Next time, I'll start from the beginning because my meat was not prepared according to the recipe, and it sounds really good! I changed a fewv things. I used non-fat flour tortillas, as that's all I had. I didn't use oil, but I made some enchilada sauce from this site called 10 minute enchilada sauce. Instead of the oil, I poured some sauce in the pan and covered both sides of the tortilla with the sauce. Then I followed the recipe with the cheese sauce and the meat. I only had low fat sour cream, and it was fine. Also, I didn't have any onions, so they were left out. Anyway, I poured the left over sauce on top and covered it with cheese. I'm not sure how much, and it wasn't the kind called for in the recipe. It was a combination of grated mexican cheese, mozarella, and some irish cheese. (Can you tell I was cleaning out the fridge?) Anyway, it was absoultely great!!!!! Next time, I'll shop for the recipe and do it right. Edited to add: I made this again. I put all the ingredients for the beef in a crockpot for 8 hours on low. The flavor of the meat is OUT OF THIS WORLD! I found myself eating the meat as I rolled the enchiladas and there is none left over! YUM! One more thing, I ran out of cheese sauce before I ran out of meat, so I would double the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I agree with a number of other reviewers that while the meat itself is really quite good - tender, juicy and flavorful, the enchiladas themselves were disappointing. I had higher hopes for this than was delivered. First of all, after reading through the recipe I knew this would be dry without some kind of sauce, so I poured green enchilada sauce over them before topping with the cheese and baking. It helped somewhat, but this was still a mediocre dish, tasting more of the corn tortillas than anything else. (I've now determined that flour tortillas are definitely better than corn tortillas!) One reviewer said it best when she said these were "edible and forgettable," and another who remarked that the meat was great...just not in these enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Oh my....this was absoultely DELICIOUS!!! I can't tell you Christy how much we enjoyed this meat. I used about 2-1/2 lbs of beef stew meat. I left out the water and mixed the beef broth, vinegar and spices in my crockpot and then added the beef. I let that cook on HIGH for about 8 hours. I chopped up 1 large white onion, 4 garlic cloves and a red bell pepper and sauteed it in a large pot until soft and then transfered the meat from the crockpot. I added a 4 oz can of chopped green chilies and turned the heat on med-hi and let most of the liquid boil off and ended up with the most tender and flavorful shredded beef I've ever made. I did have to add quite a bit of salt to achieve the right taste (we love salt). I skipped the sour cream and rather than making enchiladas, I let everyone assemble burritos with flour tortillas. I made my own pico de gallo to go along with this and grated some fresh pepper-jack cheese. I will definitley use this again and plan on passing this recipe along to others. Thanks a million!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I made this for a party and everyone asked for the recipe. Delicious. I made it exactly as written except that I poured Red Enchilada Sauce (recipe on this site) over the top before sprinkling the cheese and baked. A bit time consuming but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
EXCELLENT! This did take a little extra time, but so worth it! I added a little red enchilada sauce over the top before putting in the oven. This recipe is worth making extra and freezing for later use. Thanks Christy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Hume Turnbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States