Shredded Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I have changed up the recipe a bit and used the canned enchilada sauce in the crockpot with the meat. I still added the sourcream and onion to the enchiladas and used cheddar cheese instead. I also did not fry the tortillas but used the warm sauce to make them pliable saving some fat and grease. I have made this version of the recipe twice, the first time I froze half. The second time my husband loved it so much it never made it to the freezer, he ate the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
THe flavor of this meat was delicious! I did the roast in the crock pot and added 2 cloves of garlic in addition. I used flour tortillas instead of corn so I wouldn't have to dip in oil. Family loved it, will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this dish last night and OMG it was so good! I was a bit iffy about the sour cream cheese sauce after I saw what it looked like but it was actually pretty good and really helped make the meat taste extra moist I believe. I even posted a link on fb so all my friends might give it a shot. Meat takes forever to cook but if you have the time it's well worth it! This one will be a regular at home for me now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Wow! These are so good! Made them last night and was told they were the BEST Enchiladas they'd ever eaten by my guest. I have to say I agree. I used The Best Enchilada Red Sauce Recipe to top them before adding the cheese and they were AMAZING!! THank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great recipe. I too used the crockpot to cook the beef and the meat and all was very flavorful. I did have nearly two cups of meat left at the end of the tortillas and filling which I promptly froze to use for tacos for next weeks Fiesta Friday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lskiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colville, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These enchiladas were amazing! I used a beef chuck tender roast to reduce the fat. I only used 1.5 cups cheese. I only used a little bit of coconut oil to soften the tortillas and did not top with extra cheese. My kids LOVED these. The sour cream mixture totally makes the dish. I brought one for lunch today. Yum, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I have never made the entire recipe. I only make the meat. It is great for everything from tacos, to enchiliadas, to adding it to rice and beans. I use my crock pot to cook the beef. Stir together the broth, vinegar, chili powder and cumin (I don't use the water the recipe calls for). Pour over beef and sliced onion and cook on high for 3-4 hours (depending on how fast your crock pot cooks) or 8-10 hours on low. Take the meat out and let cool slightly. Shred with forks and return to crockpot. The shredded meat will adsorb more liquid. The meat will freeze well. Freeze with the extra liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nennyz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Great recipe! I made it in 3 8x8 foil pans and froze two pans for later. This worked out so well because you can stick it in the oven frozen for an easy dinner! The leftovers are excellent with a fried egg on top for breakfast :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. The only change that I am going to make is trying it with ground sirloin. My husband did not care for the shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This recipe was awesome!!! I nixed the sour cream sauce because my father-in-law is picky picky, but the recipe for the beef was worth the entire thing!!!! I left my chuck roast in the beef broth mixture in a crockpot for about 7 hours on low, and it came out perfectly tender and shreddable. My corn tortillas didn't want to roll (they actually wanted to break) so I ended up doing a casserole-style dish, that tasted wonderful. I have leftover beef, which I think would work perfectly for a homemade taco salad, or some such. This will definitely be a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythe, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States