Shredded Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I can't count the number of times I've made just the shredded beef portion (Step 1) of this recipe -- it's wonderfully tasty! I add the onions and green peppers to the meat while it is simmering, together with an 8-ounce can of La Costena home style Mexican hot sauce for extra zest. I always double the quantities for the sauce, too, because the tortillas soak up so much - and the flavor is so great, it's good to have extra. Try keeping some extra shredded beef in the sauce in the freezer for last-minute dinners. What a time-saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Oh my....this was absoultely DELICIOUS!!! I can't tell you Christy how much we enjoyed this meat. I used about 2-1/2 lbs of beef stew meat. I left out the water and mixed the beef broth, vinegar and spices in my crockpot and then added the beef. I let that cook on HIGH for about 8 hours. I chopped up 1 large white onion, 4 garlic cloves and a red bell pepper and sauteed it in a large pot until soft and then transfered the meat from the crockpot. I added a 4 oz can of chopped green chilies and turned the heat on med-hi and let most of the liquid boil off and ended up with the most tender and flavorful shredded beef I've ever made. I did have to add quite a bit of salt to achieve the right taste (we love salt). I skipped the sour cream and rather than making enchiladas, I let everyone assemble burritos with flour tortillas. I made my own pico de gallo to go along with this and grated some fresh pepper-jack cheese. I will definitley use this again and plan on passing this recipe along to others. Thanks a million!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
excellent meat filling. good left-over. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Very good recipe! Even my children liked it! I made the beef in my crockpot and let it go all day. I used torn flour tortillas insteed if the corn tortillas and layered them in a 13x9 inch pan with 1/2 the sour cream mixture, 1/2 the beef, another layer of torn tortillas, and then repeated all layers. Topped off the last layer of tortillas with 2 Cups of cheese. The casserole approach saved time, and it was easier to dish up smaller portions for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Worth every single gram of fat in it! My roast turned out to be fatty and wouldn't shred, so I thought it would ruin the recipe. But it was still just fabulous. I can't wait to try it with a decent roast. Everyone loved it. I served it with fresh salsa, sour cream and guacamole and it was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
This recipe reminded me more of a flauta than an enchilada simply because it was dry. I think of enchiladas as smothered. I served it at a party and everyone loved it. I used both corn and flour tortillas, the flour seemed to go first. I also mixed some sour cream and store bought salsa together to put on the side that people could put on the "enchilada" Huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
The meat recipe is just awesome. Everyone loves it.I use the meat to make tortas very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
We LOVE this recipe! Great flavor and well worth the additional kitchen time. We also utilized our crock pot as Tammy did and let the beef cook while at work. Just fantastic! Wish I could give you more stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
These enchiladas are still being raved about 3 weeks after I made them! I plan to make the shredded beef to keep on hand tomorrow. It is the basis for lots of future experimenting. (perhaps an enchilada/mole sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Oh my stars!! This was just supreme. My husband had three helpings and made "mmmm" noises while eating, which is very rare indeed. I did reduce the amount of chilli in the meat by half. This was still quite firey for us, though not overly so. I really enjoyed cooking this also and the reaction to the meal was well worth it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States