Shredded Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
I omitted the green chilies and sour cream and added sliced black olives and minced red onion before cooking. This is the only way to have great shredded beef enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
I also added a little canned Green Enchilada sauce to add moisture to the tortillas, but yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I can't count the number of times I've made just the shredded beef portion (Step 1) of this recipe -- it's wonderfully tasty! I add the onions and green peppers to the meat while it is simmering, together with an 8-ounce can of La Costena home style Mexican hot sauce for extra zest. I always double the quantities for the sauce, too, because the tortillas soak up so much - and the flavor is so great, it's good to have extra. Try keeping some extra shredded beef in the sauce in the freezer for last-minute dinners. What a time-saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
The meat recipe is just awesome. Everyone loves it.I use the meat to make tortas very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mableton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
excellent meat filling. good left-over. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
Very good recipe! Even my children liked it! I made the beef in my crockpot and let it go all day. I used torn flour tortillas insteed if the corn tortillas and layered them in a 13x9 inch pan with 1/2 the sour cream mixture, 1/2 the beef, another layer of torn tortillas, and then repeated all layers. Topped off the last layer of tortillas with 2 Cups of cheese. The casserole approach saved time, and it was easier to dish up smaller portions for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
We LOVE this recipe! Great flavor and well worth the additional kitchen time. We also utilized our crock pot as Tammy did and let the beef cook while at work. Just fantastic! Wish I could give you more stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
Meat had a mild smokey taste from the cumin and chili powder. I used slightly under 3# of meat and it made *12*,not 10, VERY MEATY servings; which was 2-9 x 13 baking dishes full, using 10 inch tortillas and a heaping 1/4 cup of meat to each. My husband gave 4 stars;I felt it was more like a 3. But to be fair to the submitter-I am not the biggest meat lover. I topped (half only) with fresh chopped tomatoes and tiny bits of green onion. That to me, took the "kinda plain" flavor to a little higher level. Served with "Vigo" brand "mexican rice" kicked up with a can of black beans, can of corn, some tomato sauce, and some cumin and chili powder, like the meat. VERY hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
Worth every single gram of fat in it! My roast turned out to be fatty and wouldn't shred, so I thought it would ruin the recipe. But it was still just fabulous. I can't wait to try it with a decent roast. Everyone loved it. I served it with fresh salsa, sour cream and guacamole and it was a real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2003
These enchiladas are still being raved about 3 weeks after I made them! I plan to make the shredded beef to keep on hand tomorrow. It is the basis for lots of future experimenting. (perhaps an enchilada/mole sauce)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States