Shredded Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Great recipe but 30 seconds per tortilla is way to long they are not pliable it is more like 10 to 15 seconds per side. In addition I added a can of salsa verde instead of the green chiles a little more complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I want to compliment Christy for submitting this superb recipe. We are Hispanic and although I have make my enchiladas differently in the past, I have to admit that this recipe is superior to my own, and to all others I have tried! I plan to use this recipe from now on, it was so divine. I especially love the first part of the recipe for cooking the chuck roast. Pairing the meat with red wine vinegar, chili powder and cumin give it a delectable flavor. I plan on using this same method for other dishes, like burritos, in the future. I also used the food processor to shred the meat in finer, uniform shreds after it was cooked and cooled - it seemed to "stretch" the portion size. I used Mrs. Espy's Enchilada Sauce from this site to top the enchiladas, substituting chicken broth instead of water, and adding garlic powder, a pinch of powdered coriander, and Mexican oregano to the enchilada sauce to give it that authentic Southwest flavor. I sprinkled the remaining monterey jack cheese on top of the sauce and baked as directed. I garnished with black olives and cilantr. So colorful. Rave compliments from the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Delicious, doubled the sauce to pour over the top as well as put in the enchiladas, family love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Everyone was right! This is an excellent recipe and can be "doctored" to your liking. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
The beef is absolutely to die for! I followed the suggestions to let the beef cook in a crock pot for 8 hours. It was perfect! I am making them again tonight! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I agree that the enchiladas need a red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
My husband **RAVED** about these! He thought that they were restaurant-quality and then some. I made 2 changes: 1) I cooked the meat in a pressure cooker (20 min, 15lbs pressure) and 2) I used sharp cheddar cheese as that is what we like. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
My hubby ranked this a 5 but, I overrule. LOL! It was good and will make again. Put chopped lettuce on the plate, added a couple enchiladas and topped with a bit more sour cream and chopped cilantro. He finally thought he was at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Amazing enchiladas!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was a hit, but I had a hard time with the cook time of the meat. The 2 hours didn't cut it. I ended up eating something else that night, putting the whole cast iron pot with a giant chunk of meat in it in the oven on 200 all night long. It was perfect in the morning! Also, I didn't have enough sour cream, so I subbed a can of cream of mushroom soup for 1/2 of it. I also poured a can of enchilada sauce over for good measure. Everyone loved it...hubby, 5 year old, and grandma! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This one is hard for me to rate...as I give the meat filling a 5and the rest a 3.....so averages out to a 4. Will make the meat part again though.I did it in the crock pot so it was not dry.It does not have any enchilada sauce on it. The one I prefer from this site is Authentic Dried Chile-Pepito Enchilada Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States