Shredded Beef Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I would like to know if anyone else had the same problem I had by following the recipe exactly. I bought a 3.10 pound chuck roast and cooked it EXACTLY the way is says in the recipe, but I ended up with a piece of shoe leather. It was anything but tender. It smelled and tasted good, but it was impossible to shred. I had to use a knife to cut it into VERY thin strips to make it edible without spending 20min each bite chewing. The taste was great, just not tender. I will try making it again, but I will use a crock pot next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Grondin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
If you hate tweaks, skip this review. I only used the recipe and method for cooking a roast which I used for a different dish. It was delicious and perfectly cooked. Just wanted to thank Christy. Helped me with an dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MittiSmitti

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
It does take awhile to cook, but oh my goodness! The meat was delicious. It was so good that I'd eat it alone as a main course. By the time everything was put together and finished cooking it was really late, but well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Wowee. Loved this recipe. Made exactly as noted. Delish. Well worth the time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
well I will be making these tonight with my leftover smoked brisket from last night, looking forward to the outcome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I've made this vegan for myself and have used leftover steak, chicken and pork for others. It's a winner every time! When using leftovers I still boil the meat down in broth and spices. Additionally I pour a red enchilada sauce over the top before sprinkling cheese and baking and don't fry the tortillas (substitute with flour). Thanks for sharing Christy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Dodd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Time consuming and certainly not worth it. The sour cream and cheese mixture was not good, to say it was nice as possible. Next time I will stick with my usual: slow cook the beef with onions and peppers, add into flour tortilla with shredded cheese, call it a day. NOTE: if you do use this recipe and top it with enchilada sauce, be sure to cover it for the majority of baking time so as not to burn the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Excellent recipe. Husband told me that these are the best enchiladas he has ever had and he is a Mexican food fanatic. I made only a few changes: I put the roast in my crock pot on high for 6 hours and I also added 4 chopped garlic cloves and half a chopped onion. I also added about 6 ounces of beer. Like other reviewers have remarked, I also added a red chile sauce before I baked the enchiladas. This recipe is definitely a keeper, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelesteD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
My husband and I thought it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I made the meat in the crock pot instead like some of the reviews said to do and the meat came out absolutely incredible! I was eating it before I even got around to assembling the enchiladas. I'm giving it only 3 stars because once I made the enchiladas I did not like them at all. What I couldn't get past was the sour cream mixture. I followed the recipe but it just didn't work for us. Im keeping it because of the meat recipe but wont be making the enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States