Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This came out great, but I changed it up a bit. I used 2 pound of lean stew meat, and I was in a hurry, so I half defrosted it, then I put it in a skillet with a cups of water and some garlic cloves, and let that defrost some more until the water evaporated and it slightly browned. Then I put it in my crock pot with 2 cups of beef broth and the full amount of chili powder and more cumin than the recipe called for...about another half teaspoon more...and the red wine vinegar...left it on low for 8 hours. When I came home, all I had to do was stir it and it all fell apart, and the juice was absorbed, but it was not dry at all, it was still very juicy. I made chimichangas out of it, but it could totally be used for everything! Burritos, tacos, taquitos...I'm going to try it next with chicken, but the beef came out awesome...and because it was already cut up, there was no fat to mess with. My husband and I both really enjoyed it! You could also make machaca out of leftovers, if you have any! (Scrambled egg with beef)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
i made these for cinco de mayo and had NO leftovers! i did the beef in the slowcooker and made 8 minis instead fo 4 large. the meat was very tender...i used a rump roast. excellent. i served with a brown chipotle sauce found on the web. Here's a light brown chipotle sauce: 2 T butter 2 T flour 1 c beef broth 1 c water 1 t cumin 3 cloves garlic -- minced 1 t oregano 3 canned chipotle chiles -- seeded and minced (3 to 4) (These are not all that hot) 2 T adobo sauce from can 2 T sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Awesome!! I scaled it down for 2. I made this in the pressure cooker. I lightly browned the meat, then added all the rest of the ingredients, except the cheese, and pressure cooked for 15 min. I turned off the burner, but left the pot on it and let the pressure drop on its own, about 20 min. I removed the lid and transferred the meat to a dish with a slotted spoon and shredded it with two forks. I then returned it to the the pot added a small can of green chilies and cooked the juice down, but was careful not to dry the meat. I used large flour tortillas and even with scaling the recipe to 2 servings it still made 4 chimichangas. I put the cheese on top of the meat before folding. There was plenty of filling. I pan fried them in just enough oil to cover bottom of pan. I served them topped with mexican shredded cheese, salsa, and sour cream. I didn't have any guacamole or would have used that too. They tasted just like the ones I have eaten at Mexican restaurants. I Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We loved this - done in the crockpot! I took the advice of others and added garlic and onion, then made a gravy from the drippings. Fabulous recipe; thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
This is an absolutely fantastic recipe!!! I've made it twice and everyone loves it. The only suggestion my hubby had was putting the shredded cheese with the meat mixture. So the second time I doubled the amount of cheese and put a generous portion on the meat mixture, as well as on the top. It was a big hit !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Process is great, however the flavor needs improvement. Found via Food Network some additions that made the flavor jump into the meat: Remove cooled meat to separate bowl, saute 1/2 onion, chopped & 2 cloves garlic, minced in remaining meat juices and 1 T oil. When soft, return meat to pan. Add 2 chopped tomatoes (I used 1/2 can rotel) & 1/2 chopped bell pepper (I also added 2 jalapenos). Let simmer til meat is moist, not juicy. Remove from stove and assemble. I also added salt/pepper (since this recipe doesn't call for ANY). The meat is AWESOME. When assembling, I did add some shredded cheese, so we'll see how that comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I can't say how good the meat portion of this recipe was:because I used leftover roast beef. But, I sure am glad someone recommended (on the Recipe Exchange), because I loved the mechanics of the recipe. I would have never thought of brushing tortillas w/ butter and cooking at a high temp to produce a crisp "wrapping"! I added Provolone to the inside and they turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
My family liked this, but I think it could use a little more flavor. I added some salt and cayanne to the beef while it was cooking, which helped. Next time, I think I'll add a diced onion and some garlic when I add the beef broth. And I'll de-fat the broth with a strainer before mixing the beef back into it, because it was a little on the greasy side. Overall though, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
These are very good. I did use only 1 tablespoon of chili and added some garlic. I used cubed leftover beef and pork and cooked it in chicken broth because I just prefer it instead of the beef. I don't really care as much for these baked because the tortilla seems to be a bit dry. I prefer to grill them on the griddle or in a frying pan lightly coated with oil. They are also excellent deep-fried but grilling is the next best thing if you don’t want the added fat. Somebody needs to come up with fat-free deep-frying oil!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Oh my - true goodness. The meat filling was great, but the true star of the show was something so simple as a tortilla buttered on both sides and baked at high heat. I will definitely make this again, although I will double the tortillas and use the same amount of meat filling. I used cheddar and melted it on top of the crispy shells for another minute or two in the oven. Any cheese would be great and I could definitely adapt this to chicken or pork, and try pepper jack or the Monterey this recipe called for. This recipe elicited as much pleasure as a really good steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States