Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Turned out great! My family absolutely loves them and can't wait for me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David&Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was easy to make and was quite tasty! I ended up modifying the beef slightly. I sauteed some onion and garlic, and added a can of green chilies. Then I added the already cooked beef and mixed it all together to put into the tortillas. I think without the addition, I wouldn't have enjoyed them as much. I also took someone else's advice and put cheese in the tortillas. Yum. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
It was good. Did it in a crock pot. The meat, I thought, was a little bland so I seasoned it before wrapping it. Glad I made guacamole because the sour cream and tomatoes didn't do it for me. The guacamole made it great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This recipe is simple delicious and not very time consuming. Chimichangas are my girls favorite food and this recipe taste fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
cook beef in the slowcooker for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These came out exactly as I had hoped. The water had evaporated in my Dutch oven after about twenty minutes, and I turned the heat down to low a few minutes after I added the beef stock mixture because it was boiling. It only took about ninety minutes for the meat to be ready to be shredded. I put some refried beans, rice and cheese inside before I baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I found this recipe to be very tasty! I had never had chimichangas before, so I'm not sure how this compares to the restaurant version. I followed what someone else said and added an onion and 3 garlic cloves to the seasoning, and I cooked it in the crock pot for about 5 hours, shredded it, then cooked it for another 45 minutes. I also substituted chicken broth for the beef broth, since that's what I had, and I added more salt. Final verdict: I would make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I typically don't dutch oven unless I'm camping, but instead we put the roast in a slow cooker, still following the recipe, for about 8 hours. It is a fantastic base. I also find I need a bit higher of a temperature on the baking to get the tortillas crispy enough to make a difference. It's oddly a little different every time. The two tweaks are the only reason I dropped this down because otherwise it's fantastic and we make these quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I added salt, pepper, garlic, onion, & cayenne. I felt it was still missing something but not sure what. My whole family ate this up so I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very good. We also added onions and 3 garlic cloves and used 8 8" flour tortillas instead of just 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States