Shredded Beef Chimichangas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Turned out great! My family absolutely loves them and can't wait for me to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David&Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was easy to make and was quite tasty! I ended up modifying the beef slightly. I sauteed some onion and garlic, and added a can of green chilies. Then I added the already cooked beef and mixed it all together to put into the tortillas. I think without the addition, I wouldn't have enjoyed them as much. I also took someone else's advice and put cheese in the tortillas. Yum. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
It was good. Did it in a crock pot. The meat, I thought, was a little bland so I seasoned it before wrapping it. Glad I made guacamole because the sour cream and tomatoes didn't do it for me. The guacamole made it great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This recipe is simple delicious and not very time consuming. Chimichangas are my girls favorite food and this recipe taste fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
cook beef in the slowcooker for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
These came out exactly as I had hoped. The water had evaporated in my Dutch oven after about twenty minutes, and I turned the heat down to low a few minutes after I added the beef stock mixture because it was boiling. It only took about ninety minutes for the meat to be ready to be shredded. I put some refried beans, rice and cheese inside before I baked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSONJANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I found this recipe to be very tasty! I had never had chimichangas before, so I'm not sure how this compares to the restaurant version. I followed what someone else said and added an onion and 3 garlic cloves to the seasoning, and I cooked it in the crock pot for about 5 hours, shredded it, then cooked it for another 45 minutes. I also substituted chicken broth for the beef broth, since that's what I had, and I added more salt. Final verdict: I would make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I typically don't dutch oven unless I'm camping, but instead we put the roast in a slow cooker, still following the recipe, for about 8 hours. It is a fantastic base. I also find I need a bit higher of a temperature on the baking to get the tortillas crispy enough to make a difference. It's oddly a little different every time. The two tweaks are the only reason I dropped this down because otherwise it's fantastic and we make these quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I added salt, pepper, garlic, onion, & cayenne. I felt it was still missing something but not sure what. My whole family ate this up so I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Very good. We also added onions and 3 garlic cloves and used 8 8" flour tortillas instead of just 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Mushroom Chimichangas

Chicken, cheese, and mushrooms are wrapped in tortillas and baked.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States