Shredded Apple Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this yesterday. Decided to double it as it didn't seem to make a lot. I didn't have fresh basil so left it out. I also used olive oil instead of safflower and a regular apple (I think a Braeburn) instead of a Granny Smith. I didn't shred the apple or carrots--instead I used a vegetable peeler and made "ribbons." The dressing completely overwhelmed the apples and carrots. I think the concept is good but it would be better if the apples were finely diced; maybe do the same with the carrots; cut the dressing in half; maybe add some craisins, raisins, or other dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Very tasty, really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manicmusicianbp

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I bought, but then forgot to put in the sesame seeds. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as written. It was much too tart for my taste. If I ever make it again, I would definitely use a sweet apple, and reduce the amount of lemon juice and vinegar. The salad was easy to prepare, and very appealing visually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Light and tangy. Love the sesame seeds in it.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The recipe was great, and the toasted sesame seeds added some extra umami to it. Here's a tip: make sure your dressing is ready before you grate your apple. Mine turned brown while I got the dressing mixed up. It still tasted great, but probably not as appealing visually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It's too vinegar-y for me. I used a potato peeler and made ribbons of carrot and ribbons of apple. It was beautiful in presentation but only one out of five of us actually liked it. I did sub EVOO for the safflower oil but that was the only substitution I made. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This salad has a distinctive, almost meaty taste, much different from the sweetness that I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is one of those Why Didn't I Think of This? recipes. Not all that complicated, uses ingredients that, just from reading the list, you KNOW will be fabulous together, but you'd never tried it till you saw it somewhere. THANK YOU for being the one to think of it! I didn't have Granny Smiths, which tend to be huge, so I used two Pink Lady apples, instead. And I pretty much use olive oil for everything, so, of course, used that instead of safflower, along with the dried parsley I go through by the bushel. I loved it so much that when I moved it from the tossing bowl to the serving bowl, I grabbed a spoon to snarf up the last of the shredded goodness and the juices that had mixed with the dressing. Served with sautéed shrimp and quinoa with a little EVOO and balsamic vinegar, with chopped almonds and dried cranberries. SUCH a lovely, easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this for the first time but I had put raisins in it and added the apples and OMG,everyday it taste better,we had enough for 3 days. What a cool side or just something to eat on. Will be making this again today but I'm not telling anyone this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yummy & tangy. A great side dish. The only change that I made was that I did not have any safflower oil handy; used olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States