Shredded Apple Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I bought, but then forgot to put in the sesame seeds. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as written. It was much too tart for my taste. If I ever make it again, I would definitely use a sweet apple, and reduce the amount of lemon juice and vinegar. The salad was easy to prepare, and very appealing visually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Light and tangy. Love the sesame seeds in it.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
The recipe was great, and the toasted sesame seeds added some extra umami to it. Here's a tip: make sure your dressing is ready before you grate your apple. Mine turned brown while I got the dressing mixed up. It still tasted great, but probably not as appealing visually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
It's too vinegar-y for me. I used a potato peeler and made ribbons of carrot and ribbons of apple. It was beautiful in presentation but only one out of five of us actually liked it. I did sub EVOO for the safflower oil but that was the only substitution I made. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This salad has a distinctive, almost meaty taste, much different from the sweetness that I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is one of those Why Didn't I Think of This? recipes. Not all that complicated, uses ingredients that, just from reading the list, you KNOW will be fabulous together, but you'd never tried it till you saw it somewhere. THANK YOU for being the one to think of it! I didn't have Granny Smiths, which tend to be huge, so I used two Pink Lady apples, instead. And I pretty much use olive oil for everything, so, of course, used that instead of safflower, along with the dried parsley I go through by the bushel. I loved it so much that when I moved it from the tossing bowl to the serving bowl, I grabbed a spoon to snarf up the last of the shredded goodness and the juices that had mixed with the dressing. Served with sautéed shrimp and quinoa with a little EVOO and balsamic vinegar, with chopped almonds and dried cranberries. SUCH a lovely, easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this for the first time but I had put raisins in it and added the apples and OMG,everyday it taste better,we had enough for 3 days. What a cool side or just something to eat on. Will be making this again today but I'm not telling anyone this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Yummy & tangy. A great side dish. The only change that I made was that I did not have any safflower oil handy; used olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Tried it today exactly as the recipe went - with both vinegar, granny smith and lemon it was a little heavy on the acids for my taste. Next time I'll try some sweet apple and half the lemon or vinegar to see how I like it. The recipe is well worth trying just to be amazed of how much punch the tiny tiny sesame seeds contributes tho ;D I was very surprised, and pleasantly so. Remember to roast them for the full experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
super super super awesome!! the sesame seeds add a great touch to the salad!! loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States