Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Definitely a keeper! Marinated 4 leg quarters for 16 hours. Boiled down the marinade and used it to baste. Started this on the grill - 15 minutes, then flipped them and cooked 10 more minutes. The wind came up, so I transferred them to a 350 F oven for another 20 minutes, covered with foil. The only changes I made were to cut the cayenne and red pepper flakes down to 1/4 tsp. each, and I used ginger paste and garlic paste. I saved the marinade and will try it on boneless, skinless chicken breasts in a few days. We loved this recipe and we say "thanks" to Big E for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Made this with legs and thighs and BBQ on the grill . Very tasty not too spicy at all. Did not use the water. Rice vinegar instead and sesame oil.....will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is my favorite chicken recipe hands down. I am such a fool for soy sauce its ridiculous, and this recipe was so BOMB! mmmmm Can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I have made this recipe at least 6 times in the past few months and it's FANTABULOUS every time!!! I take all the ingredients and mix them in a bowl and pour the contents over chicken thighs in a pot and simmer for about an hour with the lid on. Easiest and tastiest recipe I've tried so far on this site!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Excellent!!!! Used 1/2 t. oregano and marinaded chicken breasts overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I use this recipe for the Banh Mi sandwiches (found on this site). They are fantastic - if I had a food truck I would be rich! Living in the PNW we are limited on grilling, so I have always baked them. Kids love the chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tutulewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
amazing! Used ginger powder and onion powder instead (short on time), left out the red pepper and cayenne for the kids. Served over rice! Definitely keeping this one handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSUMOOSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Amazing! So good with the sweet and spicy combination! Left out the ginger and used reduced sodium soy sauce. Also baked,not grilled but only because weather did not permit.Left marinade in the pan,laid thighs skin side down and baked for half hour, flipped and drained the juices, uncovered,then broiled until crispy. Served with fried brown rice and sauteed whole green beans. Huge huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is fabulous! I marinated chicken for about 6 hours. All the spices compliment each other and really pop! Delicious! Thank you Big E!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenmulv
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! I marinated both thighs and chicken breasts that I pounded to 1/4" thick in this marinade overnight and grilled it. Ran out of propane and finished under broiler- chicken was moist and very tasty! My guests gobbled it up! I served it with pineapple skewers and white rice with diced pineapple and shredded coconut stirred in. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States