Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I grew up in Makaha, HI, I have ate this on many occasions to say the least. Another way you can make this is by using the same ingredients as listed above. However; use 3 bottles of soy sauce (DO NOT use Kikkoman)Your first choice should be "Aloha Shoyu Sauce" and your second should be LaChoy, NEVER Kikkoman. Pour your soy sauce in a large pot and add all ingredients (including chicken). Add enough water to make sure all chicken can be covered (probably around 5 cups or so). Bring to a boil, then simmer for 2.5 hours (3 hours if you want the chicken falling off the bone). Serve over sticky white rice and add some of the soy sauce mixture for added flavor. You can play with the Hot spices and brown sugar to your liking. I usually add about 3 cups brown sugar and 1/4 of the red pepper and cayenne measurements, it will still be plenty spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Loved it. The best chicken recipe ever........a little hot spicy for kids, so you might want to go a little lite on the red pepp flakes,and the cayenne. But still a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I used Lisa Thelen's advice and cooked it covered on the stove with half the sauce. I made a sauce with the other half ( thickened it with maizena).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I loved this!! I'm big on ginger, so next time I'll add more, but otherwise, wonderful! Will definitely do again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Great on the grill! Marinate over night for the full flavor effect. A BBQ hit with everyone at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My family loves this recipe! Definitely has a kick but so yummy. If you like spicy food but can't handle a lot of spice, I suggest a subtle side dish like white rice or baked potatoe. I've also made with bone-in thighs and cut off the skin with my kitchen shears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I only had 4 fairly large chicken thighs (2 lbs) so I cut the marinade in half. I let them marinade all day. Not sure what the onion added but these were absolutely delicious. Granddaughter and I cooked them on the gas grill. They were delicious. They do have a little "kick" so if you don't like spicy, leave out the red pepper. I think next time I'll use pineapple juice in place of the water. I will cook these many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Liked the flavor if the sauce, but hated the texture of the thighs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I love this recipe! I have made a similar version (without a true recipe) for years, but have used it as the sauce for a stir fry, which pairs well with either chicken or beef. People often ask how I make it and are surprised at its simplicity. I do, however, make two slight changes so that family members who must limit their intake of sugar/sodium can enjoy the recipe as well. First, I use low sodium soy sauce and, second, I substitute Cary's Sugar Free Syrup (to desired sweetness) in place of the brown sugar. (Cary's Sugar Free Syrup can be found in the pancake syrup section of the supermarket.) Even with these modifications, the recipe turns out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I lived in Hawaii for 10 years and shoyu chicken was a staple dish that we ate every week. This recipe can hold its own against any chicken I ate all those years! I add sesame seeds and slightly more sugar to mine to make it more 'island like'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States