Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made this for my husband's birthday luau and I received so many compliments from our guests. The chicken even got rave reviews from the polynesian dancers that I hired for the event. I have also made the marinade and put it on salmon and mahimahi and both were fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Tasty. Had to substitute onion powder, garlic powder and ginger powder and still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made a few substitutions, because thats what i had one hand, and used half the soy sauce, because i ran out (oops) but it was incredible! it marinated for just under an hour and even with the short time soaking, it was moist and delicious. a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
ono! we're surrounded by great food and culinary adventures every day, but to me shoyu chicken always gonna be one of those comfort foods! this recipe is great. now it's a toss-up between this grilled kine and the slow-cooked/stewed kine (with more of a five-spice flavor) for me. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
my family loved it! I did leave out the spicy stuff to accomodate the kids, but even with out it was great. I marinated the meat for about 3 hours, and grilled it over direct low heat- it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This marinade was EXCELLENT!!! After removing the chicken from the marinade I cooked the marinade for a while, put some corn starch in cold water and then added it into the marinade to thicken it and while it was grilling I brushed on the marinade. EVERYONE LOVED it and asked when I was making it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Awesome recipe. If you like the sweet and spicy flavors mixed together, this is an awesome dish. I cook it on the charcoal grill, great taste! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
We loved this. The flavor was awesome and you didnt have to marinate it all day for the flavor to stick. This will be added to our grilling rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Oo, so good! When I saw the picture, I had to try it. These are ingredients that are always in my house, but I never would have put them together. I'm so glad I did! Only change I made was the use of ground ginger (because that's what I had). I cut back on the cayenne pepper just a bit because I'm a wimp when it comes to spice, but this just had a slight bite. Next time, I will let this marinate over night. One hour was good, so more must be better. We did this over low heat on the grill, about 25 minutes on each side. It was super moist. I think this marinade would be GREAT on ribs. Next time, we will probably throw this on the smoker and let it cook all day.Think it would be great served with grilled pineapple. Thanks! Edit: We marinated ribs in this for several hours and then smoked it. Absolutely great flavor, but if you're going to use it for ribs, I would suggest doubling the brown sugar. Do yourself a favor, make this recipe! We made a huge batch for a BBQ and everyone couldn't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Maybe it was the oregano I used, or maybe how long I marinated (overnight), but though this was good, it just didn't win any awards. I may add pineapple juice and omit the oregano and see what that does. Okay, made this again with good oregano and all the correct ingredients. Marinated for 2-3 hours before grilling for a potluck Served with sticky rice and WOW. Everyone was quite impressed and wants the recipe! Should I share? :D Tip: DO boil the marinade and reduce, then strain. So good as a sauce on rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States