Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a favorite for the kids from Hawaii. However, we don't bar-b-que it. We do basically everything you say but we put a bag of frozen chicken thighs in a big pot, bring it to a boil and let it simmer for an hour or so (the longer the better. We then serve it over rice. It's one of those meals you can make when you forget to defrost something... dinner in an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
OMG. Wow. I made the Shoyu Chicken using chicken legs and served it as one of the main dishes for a family/friends cookout. I personally don't care for chicken legs, but they seemed like the perfect food for a cookout for a large crowd. I was so sorry that they were eaten up so quickly! I marinated the chicken legs overnight in a ziplock bag, then grilled them slowly over a gas grill. Meanwhile, I boiled the marinade for about 10 minutes and added just a touch of corn starch. When the legs were about done, I brushed them with the marinade and heated through. I can't believe how great they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I would give this 5 stars, but I did not grill it, because it starting pouring rain when I was going out to get the grill ready. So instead I placed the Chicken and the Marinade in a 9x13 baking dish, and baked it for 45 minutes at 400 degrees. I liked it, it was a little spicey for me, but my older boys loved it and thought it was not too spicey. I am going to be making this again when our weather here decides to stay a sunny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
YUMMY!!!! My family loved this. I will make again. I only had one package of thighs, so next time I will make the 5 pounds from the recipe. We all could have eaten a lot more!!!! Make this - it's good!!! (I put in the paprika and the cayenne pepper) Oh and I baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made this for my husband's birthday luau and I received so many compliments from our guests. The chicken even got rave reviews from the polynesian dancers that I hired for the event. I have also made the marinade and put it on salmon and mahimahi and both were fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I'd give this 6 stars if possible! Fabulous bbq chicken recipe worth making over and over again. I marinated 5 skinless, bone-in chicken thighs for 18 hours in the sauce (proportioned to 6 servings) in a ziploc bag, making sure to turn over halfway through so the meat was thoroughly marinated. Grilled on low-medium heat for about 15 minutes per side, and served with veggie fried rice and a spinach sidedish. While making the sides, I reduced the reserve marinade over the stovetop for about 20 minutes. It made a super yummy sauce which was fantastic with the rest of the meal! To sum up, the chicken turned out beautifully -- moist and flavourful with nice grill marks. Even though it was not spicy at all, we still think it turned out perfectly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Oo, so good! When I saw the picture, I had to try it. These are ingredients that are always in my house, but I never would have put them together. I'm so glad I did! Only change I made was the use of ground ginger (because that's what I had). I cut back on the cayenne pepper just a bit because I'm a wimp when it comes to spice, but this just had a slight bite. Next time, I will let this marinate over night. One hour was good, so more must be better. We did this over low heat on the grill, about 25 minutes on each side. It was super moist. I think this marinade would be GREAT on ribs. Next time, we will probably throw this on the smoker and let it cook all day.Think it would be great served with grilled pineapple. Thanks! Edit: We marinated ribs in this for several hours and then smoked it. Absolutely great flavor, but if you're going to use it for ribs, I would suggest doubling the brown sugar. Do yourself a favor, make this recipe! We made a huge batch for a BBQ and everyone couldn't stop talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is so, so good. I marinated the chicken for one hour, put the chicken on the BBQ and brought the remaining marinade to a boil on the stove and then basted the chicken with it while it was still grilling. I am making this again tonight and I am going to skewer some veggies and brush them with the marinade as they grill. A+. ... p.s. whoever gave this recipe only 4 stars and then stated, "couldn't get enough," needs to add one more star to their review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I used low sodium soy sauce, used half pineapple juice/half low sodium chicken broth instead of water (for more flavor and oomph), increased the garlic and used a whole package of green onions (recipe didn't specify which kind of onions, so I just went with what sounded good). This marinated most of the night and almost all day in this wonderful, fragrant sauce and it's in the oven now, making my house smell AH-MAZING. I'll update my review once we've had a chance to taste it. EDITED: Good but quite salty, even with the reduced salt soy sauce. I didn't like the oregano in the chicken, next time I might try something else. Maybe cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Excellent! I did leave out the optional seasonings as my children are not fans of anything remotely spicy. And I baked it at 400 for about an hour. I will definately be making this again, perhaps with the additional spices next time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States