Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This chicken was excellent. My husband had not made it home by dinnertime and my 7 year old decided that Dad had forfeited dinner by being late. Therefore he reasoned he could eat Dad's serving of chicken and rice. I almost agreed and split it with him but calmer heads prevailed (Dad walked in during the discussion). I will try to see what I can do to reduce the amount of brown sugar...but this was very tasty. I grated the first part of the fresh ginger. The second part of the ginger, I sliced. The sliced ginger pieces turned out nicely and were a treat to eat in the sauce. Next time, I will finely slice all the ginger (similar to garlic slices).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Made it as directed, marinated for about 4 hours but couldn't grill outside so it went in the oven at 350 degrees for 35-40 mins. The sauce has a really nice flavor. I'll make it again but on the grill next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
sure smelling good in the oven! its under 25 degrees out, so we are NOT grilling tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul & shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Can not say enough good things about this! That sauce is the best thing I ever had. Loved it all. I'd just add maybe a ciabatta loaf of the side for that sauce because of how good it is. Unreal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andru Quinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This was lip smacking delicious! I followed the recipe as written (just left out red pepper flakes) and rather than cooking on grill, cooked slowly in a covered cast iron dutch oven until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5un5hine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
It was just okay. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jorg Gaubmann
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Made this with chicken breast on a BBQ with some Asparagus and white rice. Everyone liked it very much. Next time I will increase the spiciness and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jorg Gaubmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Amazing tasting chicken! We grilled and singed it a little and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
HELPFUL TIPS: I had some boneless thighs I had to get rid of, and we never grill. So I lined my casserole dish with nonstick foil, then laid the chicken down... and then 3/4 of the sauce. Then after baking it at 350 for 40 min, I mixed the remaining sauce with 2T of cornstarch (mix together well). Then baked for another 30 min. Ohh my goodness... had that yummy chicken with sauce that stuck to it. Servced with pineapple tidbits and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This is one of my favorite grilled chicken recipes. I have no idea if this can be considered traditional Shoyu. Regardless, it stands very well on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States