Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I made this for our dinner group. I used some thighs and some breasts, only because the store didn't have enough thighs that day. Everyone said it was great. I thought the thighs were best, maybe they soak up the marinade better. Took advice to use pineapple juice instead of the water. Definitely use some of the marinade to baste while grilling, and hold back some marinade mixture for a sauce! I boiled down marinade for 10 minutes and then added 1 tablespoon cornstarch mixed with a little water, cooking until thickened. Spooned that over the chicken, then garnished with pineapple slices and chopped green onion. Great as leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I made 65 pounds of this for a luau I had. It was absolutely perfect. Everyone at the party loved it. I marinated the chicken for two days. I started the thighs on Thursday frozen and cooked them on Saturday afternoon. You must have skinless thighs or the flavor is not there. Did not change a thing and everyone thought they were sweet and spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I was expecting the brown sugar to balance out the soy sauce but it was still a bit salty for my taste. It was still eatable though because I mixed it with rice. The crushed & cayenne pepper gave it a nice kick. I did use a little less cayenne pepper. For those who have a bit of a salt sensitivity, you should consider modifying this recipe. I think that it would have been much better if it wasn't as salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
My husband and I both LOVE this recipe! Matter of fact, I just shared it with a family member who had it while visiting with us some time ago. I pretty much make the recipe exactly as it says, and it turns out delicious every time. My husband requests this quite often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
My wife and daughter loved it. This one is going in the keeper file. I reserved a bit of the marinade and put it over a low flame to reduce it while the chicken cooked. I add just a pinch of corn starch to thicken it so it would stick to the chicken. Just before the chicken was done I applied it as a glaze. In the marinade because I was short on time I used about 2 table spoons of onion powder rather than dicing up an onion. For the glaze I did dice up a about a 1/4 of an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Fantastic all-around recipe, although personally grilling it came out relatively plain. The sauce, despite marinating for around 6 hours and 30 minutes, did not flavor the chicken thoroughly. Even if this was due to bad marination tactics, no way would grilling it be able to make the chicken as shown in the picture. The sauce is too watery, and won't stick to the chicken as the picture suggests. My second batch I made in the oven at around 350 degrees, and cooked it until it seemed done (Around 40 minutes for me). I simply put the chicken and marinade in a casserole dish and cooked it, soaking. This turned out much more flavorful and saucy, albeit softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Ayers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Wow! This chicken is superb. I didn't change a thing and it came out awesome. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This is good. However I would not discard the marinade, I would reduce it on the stove then baste it on the chicken while grilling. I opted to cook it in the marinade on the stove, adobo style. The sauce was great over rice as well. I'll have to try baking it in the oven with the marinade when it's cooler out next time. Instead of the tsp. of cayenne pepper and tsp. of chili flakes I used two tsps. of sriracha sauce. It was not too spicy that way and the whole family loved it, even the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This is a wonderful marinade! My family loved it so much that this will be one recipe I use for now on. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I've been looking for a great flavorful, tender "bento style" recipe and found this. I make it without changing anything and it's been a huge hit with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 510) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States