Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
we all get our own take on dis recipe,but i'll keep in mind da different spices big e uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poipndr

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
spicy - but very good - i couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great bones! No matter what your fav style of cooking may be, there's always room for a recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made a few substitutions, because thats what i had one hand, and used half the soy sauce, because i ran out (oops) but it was incredible! it marinated for just under an hour and even with the short time soaking, it was moist and delicious. a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I made this for my husband's birthday luau and I received so many compliments from our guests. The chicken even got rave reviews from the polynesian dancers that I hired for the event. I have also made the marinade and put it on salmon and mahimahi and both were fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
ono! we're surrounded by great food and culinary adventures every day, but to me shoyu chicken always gonna be one of those comfort foods! this recipe is great. now it's a toss-up between this grilled kine and the slow-cooked/stewed kine (with more of a five-spice flavor) for me. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
my family loved it! I did leave out the spicy stuff to accomodate the kids, but even with out it was great. I marinated the meat for about 3 hours, and grilled it over direct low heat- it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beachwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Tasty. Had to substitute onion powder, garlic powder and ginger powder and still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Awesome recipe. If you like the sweet and spicy flavors mixed together, this is an awesome dish. I cook it on the charcoal grill, great taste! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This marinade was EXCELLENT!!! After removing the chicken from the marinade I cooked the marinade for a while, put some corn starch in cold water and then added it into the marinade to thicken it and while it was grilling I brushed on the marinade. EVERYONE LOVED it and asked when I was making it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Watch Chef John make authentic Japanese chicken teriyaki.

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States