Shoyu Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Meh. Don't know what I'm missing. This was just another teriyaki-ish chicken dish with an added overwhelming onion element to us. We ate it, but not the leftovers. Don't think I'll bother repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This chicken was PERFECT! If you don't like it too spicy cut the red pepper, cayenne and paprika in half. Interestingly, I found that doing this the chicken itself wasn't very spicy at all, but the boiled marinade was! My 10 - 15 year olds had seconds. Served with steamed rice and a spinach fritatta also from this site. NOTE: I had to bake the chicken (was out of propane for my grill, dangit) and it was soooo tender and yummy. Baked at 350 for 40 minutes, turning once. Probably basted it but can't remember cuz I had a glass of wine cuz I was so mad I couldn't grill it. Maybe 2 glasses. Doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Skin lovers don't fear! I loosened the skin so the marinate could get trap between the meat and skin. Secondly the finish product didn't look as wet when finished. To over come this I sprayed a little olive oil on the chicken as it was finishing. I severed this wedges of oranges to squeeze on the chicken. My wife loved it! She added that it kicked it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
As written the recipe was uncomforably ridiculously hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
We tried this last evening for the first time, and my husband cannot stop raving how fantastic these thighs are! This is a KEEPER!! And so easy. I typically read several reviews to get ideas for any tweaking so I listened to the many who said marinate this the longer, the better. I followed recipe verbatim for first try. I adjusted the serving amount to 4 portions and used 6 boneless skinless thighs. This actually allowed us leftovers. I also used Splenda Brown Sugar to cut the sugar content and did use all the optional spices which all appeal to us. Not to spicy at all. When I did remove the thighs to a plate for grilling, I reduced and thickened the remainder of the marinade on stovetop with small amount of corn starch. My husband used this during grilling to baste. This is a DELICIOUS recipe!! Thanks so much to "The Big E" for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanHam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was amazing! The spices in this recipe is what gives flavor. I did tweak the recipe to what I had on hand, that is the joy of cooking. Only had 2 tablespoon soy sauce, added (7)ounce jar of Hosin Sauce (1)Tablespoon of Oyster sauce. followed as is. I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This recipe is so good and easy. I marinated the chicken, and planned on baking it. I read some of the reviews and others put it on the stovetop so I decided to try it. The flavors were amazing but I'd bake it the next time to brown the chicken more instead of boil. I served with rice and steamed broccoli and cabbage. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
great recipe - followed it exactly as requested and it turned out wonderful! thx for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Great flavor and easy to make. I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snugglzz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Selah, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States